Mississippi River Bottom

3.7
504.524.2558

515 Saint Philip Street

New Orleans, LA 70116

XhXeXy

posted on 14 November, 2016
Joined 7 years ago
201 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Wow what a great dive bar. It was a block away from our hotel which was St. Philip Hotel. Great drinks and food. The bar is cash only but the sit in restaurant you can pay with card. I tried their carne empanadas,nachos, and buffalo wings. I was surprised with the empanadas. I thought they were going to bland. It sure proved me wrong. It's two empanadas cut in half and served with melted cheese. It was my favorite from the menu. For our group it was our go to bar. Will definitely go back there. Also, they have a bar dog and he's adorable!! His name is JR.

justinlk

posted on 2 November, 2016
Joined 9 months ago
38 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Awesome service .. Dog friendly.. football.. the food is all hand made and fabulous.. oysters are good, so good the local dog jumped up for a try. The burgers are handmade, it's a place where they actually want you to come in.

navid

posted on 21 September, 2016
Joined 5 months ago
13 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
5

Not too much to add to the other review's and concur the staff, location, set up with the courtyard is fantastic no doubt. Great spot for locals and tour groups. TV's for sports and pool tables makes it a very enjoyable experience. The owner who lives on site- an old creepy dude with a dog, will act inappropriately with ur lady friends. Happened to me first hand and I had seen and heard it happens regularly. Whatever, it's a NOLA experience, it's worth checking out just keep an eye out for the tales of the crypt dude.

stripforme123

posted on 1 July, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
45 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
N/A

Reviews of MRB seem to split into two categories: Positive reviews for the food; negative reviews for the service. Count me among the negative. The service was so bad, I never got a bite of food. My wife and I were there for more than an hour. For the first 30 minutes, the waitress kept apologizing, saying she'd get to us soon. She eventually gave up that act and just ignored us. We eventually realized it was a lost cause and walked around the corner to Molly's and were happy to have food and drinks within 10 minutes.We eat out constantly, and over more than 20 years, I don't think I've been to a place where I just flat out couldn't get service. It was strange.

DexterRexter

posted on 1 June, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
62 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
3.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
4.5
Value for Money, Food
4
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
5

Crawfish Mac and cheese was great as well as the deep fried soft shell crab. Nice people and good service too !!

marlonmoney12

posted on 13 May, 2016
Joined 9 months ago
35 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.5
Overall Hospitality
3.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
4

Crawfish are good, but as a local, I wouldn't pay $8/lb when there are plenty of spots in town for $2.00/lb.

danielson

posted on 27 April, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
42 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
5

So...this is a different kind of place. Bar in the front, restaurant in the back on the patio. I think they are run as separate businesses. If you sit in the back on the patio, be prepared to go to the cash only bar for drinks.The food, however, is top notch NOLA Joint good. I highly recommend the Crawfish Rangoons. The crawfish pots were right behind us & they were gearing up for a busy night I think.Now let's talk about the dog...Ease up folks. He's jovial. He wants to play. It's one of those things you find in the quirkiness of The Big Easy. He interacted well with everyone including kids.If that's what gets your panties in a wad, I won't judge you. You just need to choose a different level of establishment. I think you can call it "eccentric," but it is not a cleanliness issue. When you are visiting "The Town That Care Forgot" please embrace the eccentricities. I mean, we all know how you got those beads. ;)

Michel S.

posted on 21 February, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
1.5

Forgot our food! Waited 20 minutes to order. When we finally did, we waited over an hour for a pound of crawfish and loaded fries because the crawfish looked so good. I kept thinking "Well it's Mardi Gras, they must be super backed up." But everyone around us got their food! People who got there 30 min after us got their food very quickly! I asked the staff nicely about it 3 times. They kept saying "in a few minutes" BUT FOOD NEVER CAME AND WE LEFT EMPTY HANDED AND SAD. We wasted 90 minutes of Mardi Gras time with no food!! Go the "Gazebo Cafe" instead. They served us quickly and efficiently

brandonresh

posted on 31 January, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
57 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

I liked that it was dog friendly and their burger patties had good flavor.. But that's about it. We ended up sitting in the back open area, food seemed over priced for the taste and quality, and the service was very slow. Our appetizers came out WITH our meal after waiting forever for it. we didn't get out drinks till after we got our food. The waitress kept standing there talking out loud with her friends, as we sat there waiting for her to take our order. It was okay. Was not impressed :/

Teresa T.

posted on 30 December, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Just had to come back one more time before we leave. Best charbroiled oysters in the quarter. See y'all next year.

dannyboy7

posted on 19 December, 2015
Joined 1 year ago
43 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3.5
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
5

A dive for sure but a great place to bring your dog and watch some football. The beers are cold and the food so so but still a real Nola treat

winston12

posted on 10 December, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
139 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I was here on Monday, November 9, and was told that they have "The Ticket" so they would be playing the Chargers game. Most will only put the volume up if it's a Saints game so was thankful when I walked in and the bartender said he would definitely have it on. I have to say that this place really made me feel GREAT! Honestly! The bartender even said he was routing for the Chargers because of me (I was that excited). Many people came and went and gave me high fives and cheered the Chargers on (I was in my Chargers jersey) and it was a great feeling.BTW, GREAT FOOD! I did not expect it! Also, it's a very cute place! It has a very nice outdoor patio. Also, a very friendly dog. Don't let him intimate you. Even if he jumps on you, he's just excited!It's a little different because you pay for the bar separate from the food. The bar is cash only but you can pay for the food with your credit card. I didn't mind. I think I was just so happy that they had my game on!Thank you to MRB for making me feel so welcomed! You guys are awesome!

Johnson12

posted on 22 November, 2015
Joined 2 years ago
102 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Wings were horrible, they were rock hard...wasn't even sure what was meat and what was bone, yes, that bad. I didn't come here for food though so that why I'm giving them some stars, great bar and friendly people. The oysters are great!

mathewater12

posted on 27 October, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
121 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Wandered in for a cold drink then noticed the happy hour special - raw oysters $0.50 each!!!! Also had the boudin balls which were nice and crispy with a great flavor. This place is a dive bar with what appeared to be almost a 50/50 mix of locals and tourists. A find that out a smile on my face.

rogerrab2

posted on 5 October, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
108 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
3.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
3

MRB is a cool little "locals" bar that I have frequented for the past 2-3 years. I have always found the bartenders to be friendly and professional. There's an internet jukebox, and the prices are reasonable.I have to sadly add I am crossing this place off of my usual list of places where I make my rounds, especially at night. Twice now, a self-appointed rude as hell old drunk has aggressively been downright ugly, and he closes with some of the bartenders (he is not a bouncer). Now, I too bartend in the Quarter; I tip well, and never do I stay if they are closing or if a bartender says he/she is closing. But as recently as this past weekend (Sept. 23), just after last call was called and we ordered our last round (and the bartender was both kind and professional in calling last call), this guy meandered over in a threatening manner and was, in short, a bully, I left. I both understand and appreciate this fella waits on the bartenders to close as my friends do for me, but NEVER would I allow my closers to behave in this way. It's ugly. Nothing else but, and it's aggressive, stubborn, stupid, and mean.Once before, he started aggressively with me when the bar was no where close to closing, but he was angry that "tourists" were in "his" bar. Well, I'm no tourist and nor were any of the quarter residents and service industry people (read: tippers). I do not allow people to speak to me in this manner, and now that it has happened twice, when all of my friends want to go to MRB, if it's night, I will be pushing for us all to go to another one of our haunts. I hate it. I love the place, love the bartenders, but I will not put up with this out of anyone.

Previous Page123456Next Page

Share This Page