The LumberYard

3.3
515.265.1019

1504 Northeast 54th Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50313

curtis17

posted on 3 September, 2016
Joined 3 years ago
141 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

Dumb bitch got mad when I only put a dollar down. She didn't even fucking dance and wasn't hot why would I tip a whore when my gf is hotter lol

Lily A.

posted on 27 May, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

If you're planning on coming out of state to work at this place I would definitely would not recommend!! the staff is absolutely rude walking in the door your first day, even though we had talked to several managers weeks prior to coming. they treated us like we were garbage right we walked in. Why are you're here why do you want to work here? well we'll see if you're even going to work out. We were dressed nice our make up in here we're completely done very nice so it's not like we needed to get ready.We're very good dancers we come from a club that is very strict we had called to make sure this club wasn't sketchy and turns out to be super sketchyThe girls can come and go whenever they want the owners have no way of knowing if their girls are prostituting or not because the girls are able to just leave. You can take as many breaks as you wantWe were told by management that there was only going to be up to 20 girls on the weekend 15 on the weekday we worked Wednesday there was over 30 girls Thursday there was over 30 girls Friday there was over 40Don't expect to go onstage of your new girl because all the other favorites Will skip you and your rotation you will never make it onstage most of the money at this club is always made on the stage so when you're fucking the bouncer or the DJ then you may have a chance of making money thereThe girls were absolutely rude when we walked in the owner had told us that there shouldn't be any drama or anything we are absolutely not about drama we rather just make our money and not talk to the other girls coming from downstairs up to the dressing room almost every time we walk past their girls they would make smart ass comments like oh my god they smell at least I have real hairYou can tell at least a half of them are heroin addict's most of those girls don't even have make up on or don't even care about their appearanceTheir main clientele are broke college students that just sit at the stage and don't tipWe come from a club that you're not allowed to sit in the dressing room Half of these junkies are just sitting upstairs sleeping at their stationSo we are very pissed coming in at 6 o'clock at night when all these other girls are coming in nine 10 o'clock at night and they still need to get ready we been on the floor actually talking and entertaining the customers all night and then we get skipped onstage because little heroin junkie needs to go onstage more than me bullshit!So if you're looking for a junkie or a prostitute this is your place(not saying that all of them are We did meet some girls that were pretty nice but two out of 40 is not a very good ratio)

traveler

posted on 19 December, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.2
Quality of the Dancers
1.2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.2
Overall Hospitality
1.2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
1.2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.2
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1.2
Sound System and DJ
1.2

Do not get off the interstate. Head straight north to Dodge,hour and half away.

Daniel C.

posted on 23 September, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
0.5

They advertise having over 100 girls on staff, but on the night I went there were only 2 working. To top it all they spent the whole night downstairs doing lap dances and private shows! I went on a recommendation by dancer in South Dakota, but do not intend to go back to this club again anytime soon!

Johnnyboy123

posted on 25 August, 2015
Joined 6 years ago
171 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Took the whole family, we had a blast! The women are phenomenal and love the beautiful tattoos on most of them! They love to dance an get the crowd involved! We got a bunch of buckets a'beer! Tipped alot of super women that entertained us all night! My daughter iin law was tickled purple as she had never been to a Exotic Club before! They kept it real and entertained I would even dance next to my table with some of there music!!! Loved it and we were all so very happy and even Excited!! Lots of tipping, keep up the great work, girls!!

ryan123

posted on 29 January, 2015
Joined 8 years ago
219 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Im a travel dancer i live in vegas originally from austin tx. I worked a week here. Im gonna say i deff like this club, tall spinning poles 2 on the main stage, then regular poles on the 2nd and 3rd stage. Vip rooms, byob i thought i wouldn't like that about a club but i just came from a club that did serve alcohol n when i turned down a drink it was bad for alcohol sales so id end up taking my drink in the back and not drinking it, or giving it away :) hehe.. Im smart, after so many shots i dont want any more drinks, so i like that we can bring our own drinks here, n dancers wont be pressured into getting drinks, tho if they did serve alcohol im sure it would be better for business, n then maybe the girls could keep more of the vip section sales, when i 1st got here i broke a few rules accidentally cause i didnt know those where the rules, the rules where explained to me wrong the 1st time. One girl called me a slut the 1st day when i walked by, she was a house girl n was talking smack about me to the make up artist. I didnt really care, "haters make me famous" as long as she left me alone i can work w. Girls who hate on me. The rest of the dancers where nice. The customers where "mostly" nice. Compaired to the ones in vegas. They r big on being respectful here, the manager got upset @ me for not saying thank you one time, but that was b.c. i have add, n was in the dressing room w. A bunch of naked women running around me, talking to me, while i was trying to get me stuff 2gether to leave so i forgot. Then later said ty. N i also saw one person almost get kicked out for disrespecting a manager, duh if u arent respectful to management they will kick u out. They keep it hot upstairs cause they dont want the dancers up there, but it dosnet stop girls from staying up there. I wish they kept it cold up there instead cause when u dance u get hot, n u will be putting ur make up on and sweating it off in the heat, then there are curling and hair flatners all over the place making it even hotter. In vegas and most other clubs they keep it freezing cold, which in my opinion is better cause then ur not sweaty, sweating on the poles, or customers, it got so hot up there sometimes it was mind numbing. After i got off stage id run up stairs and stand out in the out door cold smoking section to cool down. They take more out of the vip sections from the dancers then any other club i have worked @ maybe cause no alcohol sales, i heard a manager say something about how vegas has high house fees, n thats why the clubs in vegas give the dancers there more from vip sales and they should do it like vegas does it. Im just gonna mention that if they do it that way the clubs i work @ hustler and crazy horse 3, have a time frame that if dancers come in early its free, thats when i come in. Clubs in vegas make alot of money off alcohol sales also. The girls are hot in my opinion, and i have seen them enjoying there selves, i read the one review where she said the girls looked like robots. I like this club tho i wish they wouldn't keep it so hot up stairs, n it would be nice if they could figure out a way to give the girls more percentage from dance sales. Maybe next time a take a trip out here ill bring my 2 roommates from vegas. I didnt like working on the weekends so much, it was to packed up stairs in the dressing room for me. N also by that time working every day of the week, all the lactic acid in my body was to painful. A customer gave me a deep tissue massage for a short while, wish i would have gotten his # cause i was working n didnt want to sit down for to long n miss out on any dances. Fyi for other travel dancers they have a washing and drying machine up stairs, and a shower.

MNGUY

posted on 19 August, 2014
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.6
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
2.5

A 3.5 hour drive from Mpls I usually make the drive & visit this place 2-3 times a year. My last visit was in May on a Saturday night. It was extremely disappointing & downright anger inducing as a customer! Used to be non vips dances were $25. Now they've added a new room for $40 in addition to the original.. Suppose to be a bonus service you get over the $25. Management claims the lower priced room services have not changed but the dancers seem to feel otherwise & now have incentives to downgrade the original experience & lead everyone directly to the new higher priced room which is a joke. It is kept so dark in there that anything extra you are suppose to see doesn't matter cuz its dark to see much of anything! Why am I now paying 40 for the same dance that was 25. I learned that management upped the fees the dancers must pay the house which is more incentive for the girls to only promote the higher priced rooms to break even with what they previously made by downgrading the previous standard experience & downright lying about what you are buying vs what you get. Granted the girls need to make money but this clubs new policy was driving business down. 40 is too much for a 1 song dance! People weren't buying. There used to be a steady line on weekend going to that room. Not anymore. I'm sure soon people will quit coming altogether. Lets hope the power of economics forces this club to change its greedy ways & get prices back in check for both dancers & patrons! Keep customers happy & they will keep coming. If not there may soon be no business left. Until it changes I will be spending most of my time visiting the other clubs. That's sad cuz the Lumberyard "used to be King!" Please bring back old LY.

Allen P.

posted on 19 January, 2014
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

lol byob, fully nude, sh*t is ratchet.

Harrison69

posted on 16 September, 2013
Joined 4 years ago
144 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
3.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
5

This stripclub is not bad at all. The girls are OK looking. What I like about this place, it's BYOB. Bring your own beer.This place is better than Heavenly Bodies in Illinios, that's for sure. The girls at Heavenly Bodies look like the Spice Girls on crack. They also play good hip hop music at this place. This place can give any stripclub in Illinios a run for it's money. That's a dam shame, a stripclub in little Iowa is just about better than any stripclub in Illinios.

SEASONED

posted on 31 August, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.1
Quality of the Dancers
3.8
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.8
Overall Hospitality
3.8
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.8
Value for Money, Drinks
N/A
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
3.8

This club provides an even-handed, safe, clean & fun party

atmosphere. It's accommodations that help separate it from

the competition: the quality of "talent" (these aren't your

average strippers, some of them have featured in playboy,

etc.)and it's a BYOB establishment-WINNING!!! The bouncer

and desk staff gives above par customer service as well. I

like that they welcome female clientele ;)

Dancing Girl

posted on 26 July, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.2
Quality of the Dancers
1.2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.2
Overall Hospitality
1.2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
1.2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.2
Value for Money, Food
1.2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.2
Sound System and DJ
1.2

I've worked here off and on. It has gotten worse and it's not just the fees. Dj is terrible and the manager is clueless. No he can't dj, but thinks he can. He does sound awful. One of the bouncers told me that he has the computer completely screwed up so no one can find a song, except him. And "entertainer" you are right- No one knows when their set is over. no wonder nobody makes no money :(

Magic

posted on 24 July, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.1
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.8
Overall Hospitality
3.8
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
1.2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
1.2

Hit the Lumberyard on a Friday - new DJ just doesn't have a commanding voice and the talent level of girls was not up to the past Lumberyard standards. The new management has updated some seating but needs to upgrade the talent. I understand the uped payout to the club from private dances has hurt the dancers take home. Hope they realize the girls are the reason to frequent the club.

Entertainer

posted on 18 July, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.2
Quality of the Dancers
1.2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.2
Overall Hospitality
1.2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
1.2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.2
Value for Money, Food
1.2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.2
Sound System and DJ
1.2

Worked here one night. very disorganized. Manager called himself- tinkles (maybe he wears diapers?) Said he has run big clubs? Really? he also dj'd. worst dj i have ever heard. girls didn't know when to move to the next pole. played part of song then started another. he said that was our cue to move to the next stage... most ignorant thing i have ever heard. Constant yelling on the microphone was terrible. NO money!

Minnesota Crane Man

posted on 25 April, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.9
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
3.8
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
N/A
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
2.5

I travel all over, Houston, Tampa, LAS, and lots of smaller places in between..but I will work my way to Des Moines on account of couple of girls at Lumberyard..

Deon, truly an exotic beauty,,Dawn, classic cheerleader blonde. loves her C& W

A couple of new girls Summer..she was great. When you go mention Crane Man to Deon or Dawn and you will be treated well.

Steve O

posted on 8 January, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.5
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
2.5

the best thing aboutt this club the extras you get from alona

and her after hours there cheaper the a VIP....

Previous Page12345Next Page

Share This Page