Shangri-La Bath & Sauna

3.4
813.626.9911

5636 East Hillsborough Avenue

Tampa, FL 33610

dannyboy7

posted on 25 November, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
61 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

Recently visited this spa, the washcloths had hair in them the towels were bleached and had holes. They requested no shoes but the floors were dirty. The owner was very rude I over heard her yelling and cursing at some of the employees. She quickly changed face when she realized I had heard everything. She boasts about how much money she has and put into the building but yet she begs for customers to leave large tips and upgrade their services Over all bad experience. Very disappointed

XhXeXy

posted on 20 November, 2016
Joined 7 years ago
281 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

Went here with a friend on her recommendation. Paid $120 for a 60 minute body scrub/massage. My friend was being scrubbed first & it looked wonderful. I was on the table across from her and the girl who was scrubbing and massaging me had no idea what she was doing. I should have gotten up after 3 minutes but I kept thinking it would get better. It just got worse. No need for details on a terrible massage, but it was so disappointing, especially hearing my friend oooing and aaahing and then looking over to see the difference of someone who really knew how to do it. My friend and I told the owner about my experience and she actually argued with us about how everyone on staff are professional, etc...We were hoping she would give me a partial refund or a free massage for the future. Instead she gave my daughter & I some nasty ice cream. I didn't come for ice cream?!?! When we checked out, she overcharged me $50. I asked my family what they ate & she immediately said oh wait, wait & changed the bill. It was super shady. Then, when I gave a $5 tip for the massage, she went off on me about how she is a young student who comes here a few times a week trying to earn money and how could I think of only giving her $5?! She was incredibly rude. I also work very hard for my money and when they charge such prices, one should leave feeling relaxed and refreshed, not stresed and ripped off. Be wary.

Leslie S.

posted on 27 May, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3
Overall Hospitality
3
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Beware when purchasing a gift certificate. Only valid for 6 months. Mine was 10 days over and they would not honor it. The person who gifted it to me was not told and I was already in the spa when they alerted me so i ended up paying

ryan123

posted on 10 May, 2016
Joined 8 years ago
281 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Found this place while searching for saunas and was quickly drawn to check it out. I researched pricing and call to ask any lingering questions. We wanted to get everything clear since we live in Orlando and would had to make and 1 1/2hr trip. When you first arrive the outside doesn't look like much. There's wasnt many cars either. We went in and everything was explain. We were given 2 small blue towels and a pink shirt and shorts. The first set of small lockers is for you shoes then in the dressing room you have bigger lockers. You have to be completely nude which was something I didn't know how comfortable we would be with. The nude area has a hot tub, cold tub, steam sauna, shower and sitting shower. It was empty when we went in and after a while you get used to you nudity. After enjoying that area we got dressed (the uniform they gave was huge on me like seriously I said loose but this was way too loose). In the communal area there so many things, salt sauna, clay sauna, authentic Korean restaurant, relaxation room, karaoke room, 3ft small pool, mats, and more! They also offer a great variety of services. We really and thoroughly enjoyed it. We can't wait to be back. Very relaxing and our skin felt wonderful. Staff was super nice and helpful.

DexterRexter

posted on 2 March, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
83 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Well like to start off by saying this place is amazing! When we first arrived just like everyone else I was thinking it looked a little sketchy, but as soon as we walked in the door my wife and I were greeted by the Korean woman who was so friendly it scared me. She went through the "menu" and informed us of everything that was going to happen.We opted for the gold package since it was her first time and was instructed to go to separate locker rooms so that we can strip down and put on our spa clothes. After that we immediately met up for late dinner in the full restaurant at the back of the spa.The food was OK I guess I would say so so unless you're into Korean food. What we ordered was pretty decent especially the teriyaki chicken. The red wine was served cold but as soon as I informed him he switched it out for some room temperature red. After dinner we each went our separate ways for our body scrub And boy did they scrub! The lady who was working on me pointed out several times a pile of dead skin that I did not know I had. She worked on me for at least one hour including bathing me in some type of milky oil and when I came out I felt like a newborn baby.I did my time in the hot tub and the cold tub as well as the steam sauna but was eager to meet up with my wife again in the community room.I think it is important to point out that while the lady was doing my body scrub I was provided with a pair of swimming shorts which I actually was able to wear the entire time I was in the wet area. There were a few other people there for other guys that I counted on a late Saturday night and a lot of Asian women in the community area.I have been fighting sinus congestion and nasal congestion for a couple weeks but after five minutes in the salt Sama I noticed I could breathe easier and my sinuses are clear. I should have stayed in the soul so the longer but I needed to go. We actually signed up for couples massage but change my mind after I see my hot wife in the sauna LOL. We hailed an Uber and made it home just in time to relieve the babysitter before we had our adult time. She has already made arrangements to take her neighbor friend back to the spa in a couple of days LOLThis is truly a gem hidden in Tampa Bay! I will definitely be back. I highly recommend this location to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary and extremely relaxing, refreshing, and rejuvenating!Also this place was as "anti-sexual oriented" as Walmart. Families are welcome and no one should fear being approached or propositioned or made to feel uncomfortable here. 100% safe in my opinion

Weedman420

posted on 10 February, 2016
Joined 3 years ago
149 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
2

Highly unprofessional, disorganized, unethical, and dishonest management. I called them from Korea to get gift certificates for my friends who live in Florida. The management said they don't offer physical gift certificates but would keep my information so that when my friends showed up and said they had a gift certificate waiting for them, the staff would know to charge me then. I was skeptical, especially about a sauna not offering physical gift cards, but having no other option and choosing to trust a Korean ajumma, I emailed them my credit card information along with the id info they needed about my friends. It took me two weeks of emailing and calling to make sure they had the info and would do as they promised. Why? Because they didn't respond to my emails or they claimed I didn't send one piece of information or another. I should have known then that they'd mess up, but I'd already promised my friends a trip to the sauna and this seems to be the only Korean sauna in Florida. What a shame.Finally they had all the info they needed and assured me that all was in order. So I told my friends it was all good and after a few weeks, they were able to arrange babysitters for their two kids and take a weekend off to go to Tampa. When they show up at Shangrila, what happens? The staff have no idea who they are. They don't know anything about any gift certificate waiting for them. Having made the trip all the way out there, my friends of course decide to enjoy the sauna anyway and pay their own entrance, but let me know there was trouble. I immediately forwarded the email verifying our agreement to my friend, and soon after I received a charge on my credit card. I asked my friend if she was refunded for hers and she said they didn't offer refunds, only credit at the sauna.Now sure, I get it. Refunding on credit cards costs money, and a business that's so cheap and hungry that they need to force repeat customers by scamming on gift certificates is not ever gonna offer a refund even when it is squarely their mistake. But when I called to talk to the manager about what happened, she claimed that it was not their fault, said that they indeed had physical gift certificates so why didn't I get one, and basically just spouted off a bunch of nonsense contradictions to try to cover up the fact that she failed.Not once did she apologize to me about the mess up, and when I got heated because of her stubborn insistence that she did nothing wrong, she hung up on me. If their management and treatment of clients is this terrible, I don't want to imagine what kind of shady ways they are running their facilities.

Isabeau B.

posted on 17 January, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This is one of the most unique experiences I have ever had. My husband set up a day at the spa for me as a gift, he knew I was especially curious about this place having driven by several times. I read a ton of reviews, which still didn't answer all my questions. Upon arrival you have two options ringing the doorbell or calling into the spa. A woman greeted me and welcomed me inside. My husband pre arranged all my services so I was promptly given my uniform and two towels. She escorted me through the woman's side of the spa where I placed my shoes in a locker separate from the rest of my things. She instructed me to undress and follow her. Once in the bathing area there are showers (which you are required to use) prior to using the steam room cool or warm whirlpool. You are completely nude while in your gender specific bathing area. After 30 minutes of getting comfortable I was summoned by the woman who completed my services. My husband arranged for me to have the Shangri-La Sae Shin which included: Body Scrub, Shampoo, Collagen Mask, Vitamin Enrichment Treatment, Wet Kelp Rub, Full Body Rub, & Honey Rinse. It took roughly 3 hours, you're on a massage like table behind a wall of the bathing area. The only downside was I did get a bit cold once or twice, but once you allow yourself to forget that you're nude it's easy to relax and enjoy the experience. Afterwards I had lunch a noodle dish with kimchi and green tea which was absolutely superb. I finished with 15-20 minutes in each sauna (salt and clay). This was a unique and wonderful experience unlike anything else I've ever done. I'd suggest it to anyone willing to try something new and little out of the box.

harryharry

posted on 15 January, 2016
Joined 7 years ago
259 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This little place is one of those diamond in the rough kind of places. Don't let the outside fool you. Once you get past the doors it is clean, well maintained, sanitized, and welcoming. Once you check in at the front desk, the attendant will give you a uniform and a key with a number on it. Lock up your shoes and head on back to the wet side. This part is segregated to male and female, and it's where you will have full use of a hot tub, cold tub, showers, and a steam room, which are all regularly sanitized. Once you want a little change from all the wetworks, throw on that comfy cotton uniform they gave you and head back to the two dry saunas one clay and one sea salt or have a refreshing meal at the in house restaurant. BUT... remember that number on the key. No need to drag you purse or wallet with you while trying to relax they will put it on the tab and you pay upon leaving. Dont want to do any of that well they offer a lot of other amenities as well like relaxation rooms and free wifi so take your time enjoy and explore the many things this hidden gem has to offer. I know i will!

fritter17

posted on 11 January, 2016
Joined 5 years ago
224 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Started my 2016, first Monday of this year going to this Peace Of Heaven called Shangri-La in Tampa!!I went with my daughter, we both loved the whole experience of going to the steam room and soaking in the hot and cold tub. I treated myself to a 30 minute body scrub. OMG!! FABULOUS!! I can't find the words to say how good this felt and how clean I felt afterwards. My skin was so soft. I was so relaxed!We had a meal at the spa. THE BEST KOREAN SOUP I HAVE EVER HAD!! Servings are very plentiful .I even had some wine with my meal.The staff is so sweet and gracious.I loved laying down in the salt room. I could feel how breathing in this room, felt so good to me. I suffer from respiratory disease and sinuses. This is the place for me.I felt safe, respected, and I was very impressed with how very clean everything is.**Can't imagine anyone having a bad experience in this place (unless you are a narrow minded/never been anywhere type of person). **I am going back, and this time I will spend the night. So lucky we have a place like this in my part of Florida!!

Glen J.

posted on 9 October, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Tampa is fortunate to have an authentic Korean Spa. The body scrub is great. The only problem is you'll become addicted. You'll never feel cleaner and your skin will be as smooth as a baby's bottom. The fancy hotel spas can't even come close to an authentic Korean body scrub. The place is super clean and the food is superb. Try the seafood pancake!

yanard12

posted on 17 September, 2015
Joined 2 years ago
114 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
4.5

I have been living in Tampa for 4 years and have passed this place many many times and have never stopped due to the 24/7 sign. Since most of those places are sketchy for sure. Well, I am no longer a stranger to this establishment. My friend and I decided to go today. Upon arriving at the parking lot and walking to the door, we found the door to be locked with a sign that says "ring bell or call this number". I was a bit taken aback by that and thought in my head, "I wonder why it's locked, and if the police raid this place a lot". A few minutes later, we were greeted by a very pleasant Korean woman. She proceeded to check us in (bring an ID, cause they keep it during your session). We were given a key with your assigned number to open two lockers (shoe locker and your belongings locker). We decided to bring our own salt scrubs, clay masks and lotions, so we opted out of the scrub experience. So, can't rate that. We spent about 5 hours here and enjoyed every single minute. The areas are nude for your sex and you get a uniform for the common areas. My friend and I did our own treatments in the sitting shower area. No one bothered us or made us feel uncomfortable. We then went to the common area and went into the clay sauna to do some hot yoga with my friend that is a yoga instructor. It was amazing! If you have ever detoxed your body this way, your body will start to give you the serious hunger cues. We sat down to eat some homemade dumplings and a short rib soup (kalbe). It was just what my body needed! The food was delicious and fresh. I'm not typically a kimchi fan, but this one had the perfect tang and spice. I never felt like this place was sketchy at all once I walked in. If you like to sing, there are 3 karaoke rooms. Asians love their karaoke! After we checked out, the nice lady gave us some cucumber mask to try at home. I will definitely come back. I felt very empowered to be in the nude and never felt judged. Only reason why I didn't give it a 5 star is the fact that the products that are used for the treatments should be a higher professional grade product. I saw the therapists massaging with baby oil. That was my determining factor on why I opted out of massage services. Besides that, it was great!

mathewater12

posted on 23 June, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
162 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

My mom and I came here as a Mother's Day gift. Although it's much smaller compared to Korean spas that I'm used to in California, we still enjoyed our visit. My mom absolutely loved it here and talks about it constantly after we left. We got here early and were impressed how thorough the staff maintained the spa. I will definitely continue to come back here.

james1412

posted on 22 June, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
197 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I absolutely love this place! No other place like it in the Tampa Bay area. The $25 day pass gets you access to the restaurant, dry saunas (coed) and the locker room & spa area (which is gender seperate). The spa area has the steam room, hot jacuzzi and cold jacuzzi, plus the showers (love the sit down shower area!). Several different add on services to purchase, everything from massages to body scrubs. I highly recommend the body scrubs! Done in the spa area, you will get a full body scrub down for 30+ mins (depending which package you go for). I was a solid shade lighter afterwards & my skin was baby soft! Just be prepared to step out of your comfort zone if you're a shy person since the spa area is fully nude (again, not a unisex area) Just like bathhouses in Asia and Europe. Understandably there are a lot more foreigners than Americans, but I promise you, while you may feel a little uncomfortable at first, you'll soon relax and fall in love with this place!! Unique and cultural fascinating all while allowing you to pamper yourself. I like to take my work computer with me (free WIFI) which I'm able to lock up in the provided locker while I'm in the spa area. I then alternate between the 2 different jacuzzis and steam room for an hour, then get dressed, in the also provided & comfy, uniform, go eat in the restaurant (amazing soups!), get caught up on work emails, head to the hot saunas and then take one final lap in the jacuzzis and steam room before heading home. Pamper yourself & head over to this secret gem!

Jessica S.

posted on 10 June, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Extremely clean but eerily empty on a Saturday afternoon. Only 2 real sauna rooms in the section. I wouldn't advice eating here... Looked a bit sketch. The separate women section had a bit of a smell that reminded me of wet cloth. Not pleasant. Long story short, was decent if you need a place to rest/shower but wouldn't linger.

eddyL

posted on 3 March, 2015
Joined 7 years ago
248 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Never experienced a bath house before, I thought a swimsuit would be an option in the spa so that was hard for me but I really loved it. Very clean place and very friendly staff. I am planning to make it a regular thing to do so I can relax.

Previous Page123Next Page

Share This Page