Starting Gate

3.4
562.598.8957

5052 Katella Avenue

Los Alamitos, CA 90720

Raff

posted on 16 November, 2016
Joined 6 months ago
43 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Had breakfast here this Saturday. Food was good and came out quickly. New face at waitress, her name was Corri. Great service and friendly smile! She's a breath of fresh air for here!

Maria H.

posted on 20 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

My friends and I always come here whenever we're lucky enough to get out on a Friday or Saturday. It's always fun, good music, good atmosphere, attentive waitresses and the owners are awesome. It's cozy enough that you don't have to dress up, but you're not over-dressed if you do. Do call a couple days ahead if you want a table, 'cause it fills up fast. No matter what the occasion you'll have a good time here.

justinlk

posted on 10 October, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
59 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This is our Sunday Fun-day hang out with some really great friends. Some good, some not so good live country music but still a lot of fun and DJ. Great fun afterwards with karaoke. Been through 2 different owners. Have become good friends with current owners.

Edward L.

posted on 28 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
3

Physically a nice place. The country band was competent though boring. Nice stage and lights... The staff was busy making and drinking shots for themselves... Drunk bartenders = crappy service...

GarryWas

posted on 28 September, 2016
Joined 11 months ago
71 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Been coming here for a while. They have comedy shows some nights, breakfast in the mornings, sports with large TVs, dancing and live band at night - literally everything you can ask for in a entertainment setting for all types of occasions. The drinks are affordable and food is really good. Definitely my go to spot in OC :)

marlonmoney12

posted on 7 September, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
62 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

What a disappointment. Went to the Starting gate about a year ago. Had fun. Went again last night, it has certainly changed for the worse. It's not even a dive anymore, it's a dump. Music was okay, it was really about the low class clientele that now frequents this location. We stayed for one set and left. The waitress asked if this was our first time there. I shared we had been there a year ago, wow has it changed. She nodded yes. Won't go back again. Don't waste your time.

Jerry B.

posted on 8 August, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
2

Went Friday night,the 29 th@ 9:00 and never got served for 1 hour (We left).I went to the bar and got my drinks,but my date waited because she wanted to order food also.The waitress completely ignored us while serving everyone else except for another Asian couple. I've been coming here since 1988 and had two of the best birthday parties in my life here. She must be new or something,they were not really that busy when we got there. Who ever is running this place needs to either hire more help(Good help) or sell the place to someone who has control of his newer young waitresses.

moneyman2

posted on 6 August, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
58 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
1.5

Hey owner, look up at your ceiling. See all that dust and dirt built up over 10 years on all your fixtures. It looks terrible and speaks to the culture you create. I can't even imagine how bad your kitchen looks.

fisherdex1

posted on 20 June, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
74 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
1

This is based on our Saturday breakfast during the Memorial Day weekend. We hadn't been to The Starting Gate for many years, but we recalled their breakfasts of the past (all were good except for the last one) & we decided to give it another go. This day was a good day to come back because they were just busy enough. We noticed that they remodeled portions of the large room but it still maintained the shaggy dog charm of a local hangout, which it most certainly is. We ordered different Mexican style breakfasts & both were a success! Portion, price, taste, all good. My boyfriend was happy with his Bloody Mary special. Coffee was strong & hot & our server was attentive with refills & checking back often. If you're into Steelers Football, comedy & themes The Starting Gate is big on these. While we were there a sports trivia raffle was underway. We'll go back for breakfast again. So far so good.

dannyboy7

posted on 22 April, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
76 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
3
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4
Sound System and DJ
3.5

The Starting Gate keeps looking better and better. The new world floor near the bar and the new carpet under the tables look great. We love the Sunday afternoon country music. They always have a dance floor full of dancers moving to their outstanding country bands. Their food is pretty good too, and not overpriced like many live venues. There is usually a 2 drink minimum during live entertainment, but you don't have to drink anything alcoholic. It's also a sports bar, with many different screens showing a variety of sports. It's sad that the motorcycle bike night has been discontinued. It was fun seeing all the beautiful bikes.

yanard12

posted on 9 March, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
132 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

A fun spirited bar. They have good snacks. Nice drinks. People here are friendly. Management is great. This place has a great atmosphere.

rickywho2

posted on 1 February, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
100 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Wish this place was closer to home. Cold Beer, good food, and good service. Lynette was super nice.

brandonresh

posted on 25 January, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
91 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
3
Overall Hospitality
3
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
5

This place is very decent great bartender...don't know his name. The only thing that bothered us was we went for the steelers/broncos game today and they have a 50/50 raffle. ... largest pot yet.... $1070....just so happens the people dealing out the tickets took the pot.....coincidence??? I think so. So if we do return we will never participate in this drawing again..... how convenient for them.!

nickstrip

posted on 12 January, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
130 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

New Year's Eve sucked at this so called club! We paid $80 For two people, and not once did a waitress come to our table. we had to go to the bar to buy our drinks that was also disappointing, they had a waitress mixing the drinks and a trainee. Also the oldest waitress there is very rude and you can't complain cause she's family to the owners. which sucks cause she's racist and they never do anything about her when customers have complained. well that's going to make customers not want to come back, the band and dj's are cool. But never again will I come back!...this place sucks!!!

Debbie L.

posted on 19 December, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

My husband got food poisoning from the starting gate and when i posted my complaint on facebook they 86 me from going. The manager didnt care that my husband got sick all she cared about was getting a bad review. That is not very good for business In my opinion. I think if the food was bad they should've inspected the kitchen not stopping customers from patronizing their establishment.

Previous Page1234567Next Page

Share This Page