Jumbo's Clown Room

3.7
323.666.1187

5153 Hollywood Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA 90027

fisherdex1

posted on 30 October, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
74 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

If you're smart you'll get here early and leave late.Girls are fantastic performers/athletesdrinks are cheap and strong20$ minimum on card and you should come with atleast 20-40 bucks in your pocket (anyone working there will give you singles)TIP these fine ladies! atleast 2-3 bucks minimum! i see crowds of dudes not tip ONCE.if you like classic Hollywood fun then here's the spot

Raff

posted on 29 October, 2016
Joined 6 months ago
43 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
0.5

The bartenders here were completely awful. FIRST they gave my debit card to someone who was not me. Luckily, she came up to the bar right next to me and told them. She was honest and could have taken off not paying her tab and stole my debit card in the process. I was lucky to hear the whole dilemma and asked her what was the last name on the card she was gives and realized she was given my debit card. She only realized after trying to withdraw money from the ATM multiple times but the PIN did not match (obviously)Secondly they kicked my friend out for being our designated driver. He ordered a soda water and when he was charged $5 (ridiculous) he got kicked out for questioning the charge. Not just kicked out but forcefully removed which was completely unnecessary. I work in the hospitality business and the bartenders literally talked to each other and snickered about us behind the bar. It was completely unprofessional. My tab was only $18 but I would have probably left $30 total but don't appreciate being bad mouthed behind the bar. I am a server and appreciate good service and despise these kind of actions...Dancer were fantastic but don't recommend this place for ethical reasons

Claire K.

posted on 23 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

How fun! Went on a Tuesday and the small main room was full. Our group of four grabbed front row seats and got ready to throw down dolla bills. The girls were fun, impressive and played off the energy of the audience really well. Loved that the business is almost entirely (if not all) women-run--it made the whole thing feel classy, and less like a lecherous strip joint. Drinks were small but strong. If you're looking for "crafted" cocktails this bar is not for you.

rodneyerm

posted on 3 October, 2016
Joined 3 months ago
21 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
N/A
Sound System and DJ
N/A

I really didn't like the place.It's like an old run down strip club had a baby with a Portlandia feminist bar... BEFORE you go ready this :- Long lines to get in. No way to get in faster.- ALL staff and girls have an attitude. That's part of the decor. The hipster crowd enjoys dancers/strippers with attitude.... - Not a burlesque show, not a strip club. Just girls doing pole tricks without getting nude. - Dancers do NOT smile. Like they really don't! They all have a "fuck you" attitude, If you're into emo, no smile, I hate my life vibe you're gonna dig this.- You're supposed to tip like at a strip club But it's not a strip club and you will get the stink eye if you don't. - Small venue. Packed. No where to sit, no room to move.- Sure there are "women" and a lot more than at a regular strip club okay so? There's women at about every bar in Hollywood too.Vegan Hipsters that feel bad about going to a real strip club might like this place.

Betsy B.

posted on 6 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I finally got to check this place out with a friend and it was awesome! We got there early (9pm) and actually ended up staying until 1am! We got good seats and were tipping 2-3 bucks a dance, so we spend a good amount of money, but totally worth it! The girls are great, talented, and fun. The songs and acts here are way better than a normal strip club. All the girls are gorgeous but Cheri made my brain turn into goo.I almost forgot to mention - the main reason I love this place is because it's a relatively safe space for women (almost half the crowd was female, especially earlier in the night). It's nice to go a club like this and not feel weird about it.

Fernanda S.

posted on 6 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This place is fantastic. Read about it on Time Out and honestly couldn't skip it. First of all this is NOT a strip club. All of the dancers (which are very talented) do sexy performances, each one in their own style, but they don't get naked. All of the time the dances are done on underwear or swimsuits. Secondly, there is a large percentage of females on the audience, which makes it easier if you are there to be amazed by the show. As a pole dancer myself, I was surprised with some of the girls. And later I found out that my favorite (Roxanne) is a pole competitor. Their moves and tricks are impressive. This is a sexy acrobatic show, get ready. There is no cover charge to get it, but you should tip the dancers well, because it ain't easy to do what they do. Drinks range from $8-$12, which I personally think is not so expensive. Certainly a different night out in LA. If you want to do a bachelorette party or be amazed by upside down pole figures, come on over.

Colbys

posted on 1 September, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
63 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I love this place. It's were strippers go that are on the last legs of being a stripper and are fun to watch. I can't tell you how many chicks I have taken home from here but it's been a few.

Jordanp

posted on 31 August, 2016
Joined 8 months ago
34 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
4.5

This place is super cool. The dancers are so delightfully weird. And CRAZY talented. I think one girl was a classically trained dancer. I could not stop watching them move. Didn't feel like a grimey strip joint (cause you know, as a woman I'm well-versed in that area). It was a shit ton of fun. I was like that 5 year old who's too scared to give the street performer a dollar. I sat by the bar, and ordered a drink every 20 minutes or so. The bartender looked like she'd be bitchy, but she was no nonsense. Which felt very much like New York to me. So that was a piece of home to me at that hour. The drinks are strong and cheap. I'd come here to hang out even if there were no dancers. Also, great thai food is a block away.

marlonmoney12

posted on 19 August, 2016
Joined 10 months ago
62 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

No comment for this review

stripforme123

posted on 19 August, 2016
Joined 11 months ago
63 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

this is los ageles premiere clown named club. not nearly enough clown-makeup on the dancers but i bring my own to apply to them before a private dance. amazing drink specials, great location i can take the bus to, and creative performanceslove jumbos!

GarryWas

posted on 5 August, 2016
Joined 11 months ago
71 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Jumbo's is a Hollywood landmark, and truly one of one a kind. It is not a strip club-this is a full bar, with talented burlesque dancers on a mirrored stage. The space is relatively small, so there are no bad seats in the house to watch the entertainment. Bartenders are very friendly, and obviously tips are encouraged. Be generous-it is tacky and rude to not tip these ladies, so bring a stack of $1's!Drinks are cheap and STRONG. I love the bartender who looks kinda like Dolly Parton. I got trashed pretty quickly off of her delicious Long Island iced teas. Jumbo's is one of my favorite bars in Hollywood, and a guaranteed good time.

E.S. R.

posted on 30 July, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I want to thank Jumbo's Clown Room for a most enjoyable night. Rocking tunes, Cool staff, Funny Friendly Entertainers, Good Times. Just get over there, Take a shot, drink some beers, Enjoy one of Hollywood's longest lasting establishments. Don't be shy or too hip to throw some dollars. Cheers!

kenston12

posted on 26 July, 2016
Joined 9 months ago
39 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I have to admit that I was a little nervous about going here. I've always wanted to check out this LA institution (so to speak). After seeing Anthony Bourdain's show The Layover a few years ago, and seeing how his last stop was Jumbo's Clown Room, I figured I had to go and see it for myself.So the hubby and I did a little date night and stopped by recently. Street parking was nearly impossible so after driving around several times, we just gave up and paid for valet ($7). I have no idea where they parked our car but we did get it back just fine.Anyway, I loved this place for several reasons. First of all, you walk in and everyone is so friendly. The bartender greeted us as if we were regulars. If you are at all self-conscious or a little shy like I was, you immediately feel comfortable because of the openness and friendliness there.Secondly, I loved the fact the clientele was varied....there were men, women, couples, singles, groups of friends, ladies on a girls' night out, etc. The whole vibe was fun, friendly, and everyone was just there to enjoy themselves. It didn't feel sleazy at all. Lastly, the dancers were amazing. Talk about athletic prowess! I oohed and ahhed at their skills and how they worked that pole! The combination of sensuality and athleticism was quite unique. You really come to appreciate what the female body can do.The fact that at almost half the clientele were women made me feel so comfortable. If I was the only woman amongst all men, I'm sure I would have felt more uptight about being there. It definitely would have changed the whole vibe for me.Make sure you tip the girls. They work very, very hard. We tipped a few dollars per dance and we did so with every performer. Don't be cheap! These girls work hard for their money!If you are looking for something a little different to do with your friends, hubby, better half, etc.give this place a go! Bonus: it's right by Thai Town and you can grab some dinner before or after.

Randall S.

posted on 28 June, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This is overdue. Best bar in LA, best dancers in LA. Period. Sam's Hofbrau in downtown is great but that joint is the urban, hip hop crowd and that's the music you're going to hear all night. JCR is a classic rocker strip joint with classic rocker dancers. And weirdos....which I love. First time I saw Ava she was performing wearing a Jason style hockey mask. Page suffocates herself with plastic wrap around her head. Tiger makes her own lingerie using things like Judas Priest teeshirts. Isa does a Lemmy routine wearing a moustache. The gals are hot, fun to talk to and dance like Hell had to call the NY Fire Department. And every single bartender is awesome. Nancy, Nadja and Michelle rule. All of them.Go there. Right now. Don't even waste your time going any place else. Get there after 10 though and be prepared to stand on line forever. Right about then, I'll be leaving, dead plastered after having been there drinking for 3 hours already, having a blast. Not long after I've heard "Car Wash" for the millionth time. Never gets old!Oh and gents. Don't be a douchebag. Rolling up dollar bills into little balls and throwing it at the girls is a douche move. Put your money down flat on the stage and don't be a moron amateur. You aren't watching moron amateur entertainment. And don't go in there and order a Moscow Mule because that's a douchebag drink for douchebags.

dopeboy19

posted on 21 June, 2016
Joined 12 months ago
76 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
N/A

I would not set foot in there again.....expected burlesque dancers and there were mostly pole dancers with the exception of one. I can still appreciate the female form and enjoy....especially when it's not my night but my husband's as it's his birthday. What really upset me though is the bouncer...it was not quite 2am (the advertised closing time) and he would not let me have my last sip of wine. I was not drunk, I was very polite with him..just asking if I could finish my wine but he took my glass and pushed me toward the door. Very upset to be treated that way.

Previous Page123456789...Next Page

Share This Page