Penthouse Reviews

2.6

1019 Seymour St

Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3M4

rickywho2

posted on 31 July, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
102 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Beautiful girls, happy and friendly, always around to get you drinks. Best strip club for the price

curtis17

posted on 3 July, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
2

My friends and I were here last Saturday night for a bachelor party. I went to go close my tab out at the end of the night and the bar tender had decided to add (6) johnny walker reds to my tab on her own accord. She didn't hand me the itemized receipt until the end and when I asked her to refund it, explaining I was perfectly happy to pay for my coronas and draft beer, she said my friend told her to put it on my tab. I asked to talk to her manager, and this scronny bald guy came over to listen in. Once he heard my complaint he talked to the bar tender and then came back and said the same old story except now that I had approved that she added the drinks. Then they just started falling back on the fact that I WAS SUPPOSE to bring my friend back to the bar to rectify the situation. If they hadn't just charged any ol' bill with other peoples drinks, this wouldn't have been an issue. Anyways, I told the P.O.S manager this was B.S. He called the bouncers. The bouncer told me to dispute it on my CC, which I will, but they shouldn't get paid for those drinks. For a place that makes money hand over fist and one where 10 of my friends likely spent $500-600 bucks, I would think a manager would be act like a "manager" and respect his CUSTOMERS request...understanding that his bar tended made a mistake. Mistakes happen, but the customer shouldn't be held responsible. Learn how to Manage!! Otherwise, girls were awesomet. Nice laid back atmosphere. $40 VIP dances. Pool table. All good!

igor34

posted on 9 December, 2014
Joined 5 years ago
212 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
0.5

3 fat bouncers who think they are tough guys (typical minimum wage meat heads) punched my friend in the face and broke some teeth...then when he wasn't looking they threw another cheap shot at the side of his head. He weighs probably 140 lbs, and all 3 of them combined weighed 1000+, and not muscle, just pure fat .., like the dad from family guy physique Good thing they suck at life and will continue to beat up customers because they are losers and have no balls. Lose some weight and fight someone your own size, fatsos

joseph1k

posted on 17 November, 2013
Joined 9 years ago
337 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
3.5
Value for Money, Food
4
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
3.5

It's one of those so bad it's good kinda places. Trashy that it is a guilty pleasure like all those movies that you see. Believe it or not it is a good place to see some indie bands off nights and for some industry parties. I've been here throughout the years when famous porn stars have done showcases and meet and greats. I don't advise sitting down...I recommend that you treat this place as standing room only. This place has a lot of music history with some of the music greats that have blessed this stage. Sad that it is a nude club now, however, if it means that this place stays in business and one of Vancouver's landmark buildings is intact....I am all for it.

harryharry

posted on 6 December, 2012
Joined 9 years ago
314 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
1.5

The cover is $10 which is a little steep. Walking in I found the atmosphere is run of the mill for a strip bar and there are more lap dance girls than customers but the service was quick and the drinks were reasonable. There is bar table seating along with a few booths and of course sniffers row. The one dancer I saw had a lot of personality but the show was kind of ruined by being harrassed 3 times by girls trying to sell a $40 one song private show.

AssnTits5

posted on 4 August, 2012
Joined 9 years ago
351 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
3
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
3

What I like about the Penthouse is that it is an old Vancouver landmark, formerly a supper club in the 50's it had performers like Sammy Davis Jr. and Nat King Cole grace its stage. I'm pretty sure those guys would be rolling in their graves knowing that stage is now graced by women's bare butts and stripper poles, but I find the irony quite humorous. From classy to trashy, this is a great place for a stag and/or a stagette.I was here on a weeknight so the attendance was average, as were some of the dancers (I'm sure the weekend performers are a lot better). There was one girl who totally rocked the pole, and could hang upside down with no hands, I wouldn't have been surprised if she could multitask at the same time - she was that good. I could just imagine her hanging upside down practising at home whilest sending a text message or reading a book, that's how effortless she made it look, and lord knows you need to have pretty serious core muscles to pull that shit off.I think the reason I don't *love* the Penthouse is because I feel like the layout is weird. You come inside and then you have to go up some stairs and around a corner, and some more stairs, so finding your way out seems confusing - usually because by the time you are leaving you're so blasted you can't remember where you came in anyways. I also find that the gyno row (which I have learned is also called the "meat seat") is small. Not that I am the one sitting in the gyno row, however if you were there for a stag, or a large group of friends, you probably would have to take turns sitting in the front. The other strip clubs like Number 5 and Brandi's have a stage that is centered in the middle of the room so there are seats all around it. I also found that the lighting was kinda meh. Sure, you wanna see the strippers, I mean that's what you are there for right? But I think the lighting is a bit too bright, you need something a little softer and darker to make it feel more sexy, so all the creepers can hide out in a dark corner and spank the monkey! Haha!

Johnnyboy123

posted on 2 December, 2011
Joined 8 years ago
294 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
1.5

I went here for a bit while visiting Vancouver. I will give this place some credit on the setup, it's spacious and has the style of adult entertainment out of the roaring 20s. Some of the dancers on stage did have a real routine, which is pretty rare these days. However, $40 for a lapdance these girls wanted! That is insane. Also, let's just say none of them will be featured in Victoria's Secret anytime soon. The ratio of patrons to dancers was about 10 to 1, so don't expect a plethora of options. I don't recommend this place, but if you happen to walk by at night, around the corner are high class streetwalkers. They are far more attractive than the strippers in the club, but I'm pretty sure they will cost you much more than $40.

Mark H.

posted on 8 June, 2011
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
2

I miss The Cecil, now that was strip joint. Damn condo developers. You always always tell the quality of a strip club based on the # of female patrons. If you see a sausage fest, expect your typical shady place with dancers who well, can't dance.Most good places let girls in for free to get the gender ratio. This place charges full pop. The entertainment was passionless and boring. Maybe it's time to try out the infamous Brandi's.

Jordan S.

posted on 8 August, 2010
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1.5

I went here for some drinks with friends for a bachelor party. There was a $10 cover. After one beer the waitress came by our table and while she was taking orders she spilt her whole tray of drinks on my lap. I would normally expect an apology for this at the bare minimum but instead she just laughed about it. I decided to talk to the manager about the incident. When I was finally able to find him (Junior) he said he would talk to her but clearly made no effort to leave the prostitute he was trying to chat up. I returned to my seat and the next time she came to our table she stopped and had another two drinks fall off her tray into my lap. I said "fuck this. I'm leaving." as I got up from the table she bumped into me and fell over. As I walked to the door she yelled to the bouncer that I had hit her. I tried to explain what had happened and that I was just trying to leave but he grabbed me in a head lock then took me over to the top of the stairs and threw me down them. I got up at the first landing only to have him grab me again and throw me down the second set of stairs. I used to be a bouncer myself and never would have dreamt of doing this to someone who wasn't resisting asking to leave. All this happened within a span of 20 minutes of walking through the door. I really wish I was making this up. It still seems unreal to me. If you're looking for a strip bar in Vancouver give this one a miss. Try the number 5 or Brandies.

fuckery12

posted on 8 March, 2010
Joined 9 years ago
316 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.5
Overall Hospitality
3.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
3.5

Went with some boys visiting Vancouver and had a fun time. Girls were cute and danced alright. Music was good too. Like the lay-out of the place, it's not all up in your face. You can kick it in one of the booths if you like, chill by the bar or find a table right up front if you're feeling rowdy. Private dances are $40 I think and apparently there's no touching - be forewarned tourists, Vancouver is far from Vegas.

John Lucus

posted on 13 February, 2010
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.2
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.2
Overall Hospitality
1.2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.2
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
2.5

I went there last Friday night with my buddies and it was all packed with no place sit. So we hang around there for a while and finally found ourselves a spot. Drinks are way expensive. $6.75 for just a bottle of CoorsLight is ridiculous. I could get 2 bottles somewhere else for the same price or a little bit less. Washroom is filthy and stink. Dancers are ugly to average looking, but there are still a few good looking ones out there. Most of them are fat and out of shape. They are going to need a lot of workout and diet if they want to attract more customers. $40 of private dance is priceless. My life and my money were wasted by the whole song worth of an air dance that I couldn't get it back. No touching, no grinding, and no privacy in the private room once so ever. You are being watched by the security camera the whole time while you are there with the dancer.

jimmy

posted on 8 May, 2009
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

love that the girls got booty!!!

Lindi C.

posted on 9 August, 2008
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
3

I have to say that this being my first strip club experience it wasn't bad. It wasn't exactly how I imagined it. The only strip clubs I'd seen were in rap videos and movies. The real deal isn't as uh, glamorous? Instead it's filled with sketchy looking dudes or guys wearing Viking hats with panties on them for a bachelor party. The girls walk around in really trashy outfits. I mean, if I were a stripper I'd at least wear nice trashy clothes. These looked like those clothes that you buy from "knock off stores" that are made from polyester and vinyl...kind of how Halloween costumes are. But, I am impressed that they can walk around in those shoes. The smallest heel I saw was probably 6 inches. They get props for that. The cover was only $5. I wouldn't have paid more than that. The drinks were the same price as anywhere. Though, beware of weak mixed drinks due to Canada's liquor laws (they have to measure every pour to just over an ounce). I wasn't sure what to do while I was there though. In movies and such you see people shoving ones into strippers g-strings. Problem in Canada is they don't have any one dollar bills. The smallest paper bill is a five. There is no way I was going to tip each one $5 (even though I was impressed with their pole dancing skills)! I did feel bad though. I wanted to tip them SOMETHING. The least I could do was give them a couple bucks, right? But, I just thought it would be rude to throw loonie and toonie coins at them. Even though it's still a bit of money, I don't think strippers enjoy getting coins thrown at them (though, apparently stippers in Alberta do...don't ask).Anyhow, I found strip clubs more creepy and trashy than erotic and exciting...even though in Canada they do go COMPLETELY naked. But, I think I was probably creeped out because guys in the club kept looking at my girl friend and I and a lot of them attempted to hit on us.Besides the creepos, the music was horrible. They did play a Peaches song which wasn't too bad. But, it was only cool the first five times I heard it. I do have to say though, that the place was actually pretty clean and it was entertaining watching the strippers for a while. Those girls are pretty fit. I mean, I couldn't hold myself up on a pole with one leg while taking off my bra and throwing it off onto the stage! I wish I could! Watching them totally makes me want to take those pole dancing/stripper aerobics classes. Only I'd probably leave my clothes on...unless people paid me to take them off, of course. No loonies or toonies though, please.

upsidlvr

posted on 10 August, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.6
Quality of the Dancers
3.8
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1.2
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Totally nude bar...Did not see any of the girls who were on the stage come down to the floor to ask for private dances. So, the best looking ones that were on stage did not seem to be available to the customers. No cover charge on a Wednesday night was pretty awesome. So cool to at least check out and decide for yourself.

Michael

posted on 20 July, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

No comment for this review