Vic's Reviews

3.2

395 Stuyvesant Avenue

Irvington, New Jersey 7111

justinlk

posted on 8 December, 2016
Joined 3 years ago
59 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Excellent Italian dishes. Crispy sweet onions are great app. The spinach ravioli tasted like it was made that day. Also excellent dine in experience, very accommodating to vegetarians. I will definitely visit this restaurant again soon.

dopeboy19

posted on 30 November, 2016
Joined 3 years ago
76 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

No comment for this review

Alan B.

posted on 27 November, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
3

Came for brunch early on a sunday, which was a good move as by 12 noon it was packed at both all the tables and the bar. The interior reminded me of hundred acres, with a fairly large back area with wooden chairs and white walls. The waitress did a solid job checking on us early and making some suggestions. I went with the Eggs, Greens & Grains that included baby spinach, chilies, feta, charred onions and almonds. I think they went a little over board on the amount of feta they put in, but overall it was tasty and was one of the healthier choices with both almonds and spinach mixed in. I would probably come back here but try one of the other entrees that my brother and friend seemed to like.

yanard

posted on 5 November, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
8 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Excellent service, great food, pleasant dining atmosphere.Make sure you try the lamb belly to start, and the bomboloni for dessert. As for my entree, I really enjoyed the poached cod, which was perfectly cooked, and beautifully presented in a deep bowl which made it easy to appreciate the delicious punch of flavor from its broth. The attention to detail was impressive. One small example: Gabby, our server, showed remarkable intuition by literally bringing warmth to the table, providing us (table for two) with a second candle because my partner was visibly a little cold. When one of the two candles had flamed out, Gabby swiftly replaced it with another one. All this without asking. (The room temperature was fine, but some of us run a little colder/warmer than others, so what she did was much appreciated.) Also, she was very knowledgeable re: everything we asked about on the menu, answered all our questions and was helpful in providing suggestions.Can't wait to go back and try other menu offerings.:)

brattlebop18

posted on 4 November, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
9 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

The food here was so good I had both my birthday dinners here. Enough said!Make sure you order the Delicata Squash and Brussel Sprouts.. our table ate those dishes so fast we had to order extra :)

Jordanp

posted on 3 November, 2016
Joined 3 years ago
34 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

5 stars - consistency 5 stars - service5 stars - foodI could keep going..Vic's was formerly Five Points (which I also loved) and is owned by the same people who own Hundred Acres and Cookshop. I have been here for dinner and brunch multiple times and have been pleased with everything every time. I find myself always making a reservation here for big groups for brunch and whenever anyone needs a spot for brunch, this is always in my rotation. Great food, great drinks and everything I have ever gotten here is bomb. Just an easy spot to go to. Note that you need a credit card to book a reservation (at least for large groups).

P W.

posted on 20 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Charming and delicious. Popped in after a nearby show and enjoyed the food, wine, service and atmosphere. Good date spot.

michelle g.

posted on 16 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Wow!Had my first meal here last night and it certainly won't be my last visit. Our party of 4 started with a pizza. Broccoli rabe and cheeses. The crust was perfection, crisp and airy with just the right amount of doughiness. With this, we ordered the tomato appetizer, which was tiny tomatoes, raisins and olives in a light oil-based dressing covered with slices of I think reggiano cheese, and sprinkled with...dill! It was brilliant. The chef sent a dish of squash to our table that was sweet/spicy/crunchy-heavenly. My entree was the porchetta. It's shredded pork covered in roasted peppers, crunchy on the outside, fall-apart shredded on the inside. Just get it. I wish I'd had more room to tackle the roasted chicken my Better Half ordered. I managed a couple of bites, and it was juicy, spiced with red chilli's I think, served over veggies and fingerling potatoes. Delicious!Did I mention my mocktail? Ginger beer, sparkling water, citrus flavors garnished with bites of apple? Super refreshing, not to be missed. We shared the affogato (espresso coffee poured over house-made walnut gelato)and bombolini (fried cakes with ricotta inside. Think of the best zeppole you every had!)The chef sent complimentary house-made rainbow cookies to the table. Yes, they were wonderful. The theme that ran through our entire meal was the brilliance of contrasting textures in the dishes and thoughtfully considered seasonings that are brilliantly executed.

Joe F.

posted on 13 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4.5
Variety of Dancers
3.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
4.5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
4.5

Went here this week for a birthday dinner, five of us. Started off with two pies, one margherita and pepperoni. Good not great but we devoured it quickly. The baby goat butter bread was as advertised, a home run, it touched the table and disappeared. We sampled a few apps that didn't disappoint (onions, carrots were very good). Service was not an issue despite many of the self inflicted wounds here about that. Ordered the burrata which was good but my favorite of the three were the carrots, multi-dimensional flavors that exploded, didn't know carrots could taste that good. The roasted chicken was a huge hit (moist and tender), definitely liked it. It wasn't my order but I had a taste and it was awesome. I liked the fact you could order half plates on pastas at Vic's and two of us split the Cacio e Pepe and the Borsa which was the major hit for me. They look like five dumplings and filled with ricotta cheese. Borsa we agreed was the surprise hit, the cacio was ok but didn't excite either of us. Desserts were good, chocolate mascarpone torta and an ice cream something I honestly can't remember. One pet peeve though was Dylan's sodas for $5 a pop, my son ordered it and no soda is worth that. Overall, very positive experience and very pleasant food experience. Chic environment, everybody enjoyed and I would recommend it highly. Dented the pocketbook a bit more than I would have liked but I'd go back in a second.

Emily M.

posted on 13 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

LOVED this meal. We shared a lot of dishes. Loved the cacio Pepe. You can't go wrong with this place. Pretty fairly priced. You have the option of large or small pastas which is really nice.

harryharry

posted on 10 October, 2016
Joined 9 years ago
314 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

So good! Contemporary italian. Excellent flavors, food options, service, and ambiance We ordered sweet onion and burata cheese for starters and purses (some kind of pasta with ricotta cheese filling) all were super delicious! Definitely going back

Juan V.

posted on 4 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This place is great. I came here with my gf because our first choice was closed. But I'm so glad we chose this place! You walk in and and you feel a super comfortable, laid back yet elegant vibe. We ordered the soppresatta pizza and the chicken salad (both delicious) Side note our food took longer than expected but Andrew the restaurant manager came out with out us asking and assured us it would come out and also took care of our first round of drinks and gave us these delicious carrots. And it was delicious! Philip was our server and he always approached us with a smile and never forgot about us. Definitely coming back.

Kyle S.

posted on 7 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
3.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
4.5
Value for Money, Food
3.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4
Sound System and DJ
5

I went into Vic's last night for dinner-- Going in- I knew there was so much I wanted to try on the menu. First off, the space is really cute and our waitress was great. To start, we got the burrata and the crispy onions. (I really wanted to get the garlic bread, but it would have been too much food-- however, the burrata comes with two really buttery, delicious pieces of bread). The burrata is prepared with lemon and leeks and was really nice. I didn't know what to expect with the crispy onions, but kept seeing great reviews about them-- They definitely were not what I expected, but they were really tasty. They are coated with a crispy, parmesan-y crust.For our entrees-- We tried three of the pastas... Half orders. We got the Spaghetti Alla Chitarra, the Borsa and the Cacio e Pepe. I loved the Spaghetti- crab, mint, chilies. It was probably my favorite pasta of the night (and the half portion was plenty). The Borsa was also really nice- really great flavors- (The half order comes with 5 "purses"). Okay-- so the Cacio... I have to say- I wasn't so impressed. First off, I think cacio should be made with buccatini or spaghetti-- not linguini. Also, it is such a simple pasta and works so well with fresh pasta. If they used the same spaghetti as they used for the crab pasta, it may have been a home run. Unfortunately, the cacio here doesn't compare to the cacio at Perla Cafe or I Sodi. Overall, I would be back. I had a really nice experience and the food was enjoyable for the most part. Also, the cocktail menu is pretty solid. I tried both of the vodka cocktails and enjoyed them both.

navid

posted on 7 September, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
24 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Fantastic pizza. good but not great cocktails and beer. Really friendly and attentive staff.

curtis17

posted on 21 August, 2016
Joined 5 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Great little place for a quick and low key date night mid week. Pizzas and wine are great and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly