Club 23 Reviews

2.8

29-23 23rd Ave

Astoria, New York 11105

Rafael A.

posted on 23 November, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Excellent food and service. Owner was on premises and came to our table and gave us suggestions from their specials. We had a few dishes, but the beef short ribs is one of my favorite. The waiter was attentive and helpful. We'll be back soon.

brattlebop18

posted on 22 November, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
9 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

It is always nothing less than a spectacular meal with Giuseppe. Being there with Giuseppe brings the feeling of being in a trattoria in Italy. The warmth of himself and his family always shines through in the food and atmosphere! What can I say, I'm hooked on the place, and will always go back for more!!

Raff

posted on 22 November, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
43 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I came to Ornella with an old high school friend. The ambience is lovely, the menu is uniquely handwritten and had ample choices of dishes. I had linguine al pesto which was perfect. We came on a Sunday and stayed till closing but never felt like we were being rushed to leave. When we requested the tab the waiter brought it to us with two drinks on the house. On our way out we were ask about our experience by the owner Giuseppe, we engage in a lovely conversation and he treated us shots of Limoncello. I highly recommend Ornella, authentic Italian food and a homelike environments.

Sebastian R.

posted on 16 November, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Quaint little spot with awesome food. I ordered the Pasta di Sapore and it was nearly perfect. Definitely a must-try place if you're looking for a nice little place for a date.

Caden

posted on 16 November, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
8 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I have never had dinner here, but i will now. Good for you guiseppe,i like that you put these negative "critics" in they're place. Especially the guy trying to impress his girl by bringing his own $5 wine, and a coupon. Hahaha

yanard

posted on 12 November, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
8 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3
Overall Hospitality
3
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
3.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4
Sound System and DJ
5

Just got delivered amazing penne vodka and COMPLIMENTARY DESSERT?! Hallelujah. I am pleased. Also - delivered 10 minutes earlier than estimated.

Rebecca R.

posted on 25 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
2

The food was good, we ate on a Thursday night. They have many exciting pasta dishes to chose from - it was hard to decide. We don't eat outoften for your average New Yorker so when we do it has to be worth it! Unfortunately the kitchen was too busy churning out delivery orders that we ended waiting ages for our pasta! Might as well have been cooking at home! Make you mind up about what you are: delivery or restaurant and then do it well. Won't return I'm afraid.And Giuseppe to you flippant comment: I am well aware that the good things in life are worth waiting for, and there is a reasonable amount of time to wait for a good dishes cooked from scratch - and your from your food it is evident this is what you do. (Did I not say the food was good straight up?) However, I don't appreciate delivery orders coming before mine when I'm a patron in what I thought was a restaurant. It was so blatantly obvious, not a scrap of food came out of that kitchen for time, except for pre plated appetizers. Yes the place was full, but it is small and how hard is it to fill a small restaurant when $10 plates of pasta were on offer? (We were not ordering off the $10 menu). Accept feedback from your customers, restaurants survive on repeat business and listening to feedback.

williamr

posted on 18 October, 2016
Joined 2 years ago
80 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Food is mediocre at best. Mostly bland, oily and not seasoned at all. Have gotten take out from here and the order usually arrives incorrectly. Would not recommend, as there are much better Italian options in the area.

Dee Z.

posted on 10 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

A small, cozy restaurant with phenomenal food. Visited with a group of people. We shared some appetizers and each of us had a different entree. Appetizers:The fried calamari among the most tender I have ever had. We all shared a plate of cold antipasto that had delicious prosciutto, pancetta and cured pork, served with very unique eggplant, chili jams that were so tasty. Each of us had a different entree and none of them disappointed. The fresh pastas were amazing. In addition, the owner made it a point to serve us a house specialty for us to try of their chestnut pasta which I kept going back for more of. It is always nice to see the owner engaging customers and he was very friendly and a delight to talk to. So happy to have stumbled upon this hidden gem and we will definitely be returning.

Lisa K.

posted on 9 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

We lucked out finding this GEM as we volunteered to give up our airline seats and stay a the Marriott LGA. A quick 3 mile Uber drive and we met friends for an impromptu dinner. The entire menu was extraordinary - so much so that their 16 yr old ordered pasta for dessert. Fusilli al Pistacchio, Pasta di Castagna (Chestnut), Imbustata, and Short Ribs (fell OFF the bone delicious) graced our table and the "house" chianti-blend was delightful. Dessert of Tiramisu, cheesecake and tartufo were a fine ending to this delicious meal. DON'T wait until you have to be near LGA - this is worth going out of your way. YUM!

Stephanie R.

posted on 7 October, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

We have been going here for Italian food for over 5 years. Never disappoints. The $10 Pasta night on Thursdays is fantastic. Has become a monthly thing for my family and friends!

rodneyerm

posted on 5 October, 2016
Joined 1 year ago
22 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
5

My second time at Ornella and I simply love it. I was there for a large birthday party the first time and the incredible service and food brought me back for date night. Giuseppe, the owner, is a gem and is clearly personally invested in his restaurant. The food is DELICIOUS (Oh the chestnut pasta! Ohh the burrata. Ohhhh ALL the fresh pastas!) and even my vegan boyfriend found something he loved! The atmosphere is very warm and inviting. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a full 5 stars is that - aside from Giuseppe's drop-ins - the service...was neither great nor terrible? It was a quiet evening so the server was also behind the bar and didn't seem too rushed to assist us. It wasn't unpleasant, just not super attentive. Can't wait to go back regardless!

Oliver H.

posted on 30 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4
Sound System and DJ
3

Unfortunately, not a great experience. Duck meatballs tasted reheated and mostly of breadcrumbs/filling, rather than meat. The sauce was certainly too sweet.The stuffed veal entree was OK, but I would suggest that the accompanying pasta ditch the mushrooms, as this was definitely a mushroom overload (veal stuffing also heavy on mushrooms). Service was friendly. Given the number of positive reviews, I'd like to think this was a bad day in the kitchen rather than systemic mediocrity, though one can't be sure. Disappointing, whatever the case.

Michelle T.

posted on 26 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

No comment for this review

Katie Rose S.

posted on 22 September, 2016
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

As the granddaughter of a true Sicialian Nonna, a longtime Celiac, and a firm believer in the magic of garlic and olive oil, I am positively giddy to live down the street from Ornella. Even if I didn't live so close, I would make it a point to come here regularly. Dining at Ornella is the closest I've come to feeling like I'm back in Italy. The care with which every dish is made is evident in every bite and the emphasis on relaxed dining is truly a treat. It is the perfect place to have a long dinner with good friends, good wine, and superb food. The first time I dined here for dinner, I was almost moved to tears at being able to order a variety of pasta dishes that were gluten-free (and not in the "alternative rice noodle" kind of way, but actually traditional recipes that are naturally gluten-free). The Pasta di Ceci and Pasta di Castagna are sigh-worthy and the homemade salumi and jellies are a perfect starter. The simple broccoli rabe with EVOO and whole cloves of garlic is incredible and exemplifies the commitment to simple, great flavors that sets Ornella apart. Giuseppie is wonderfully hands-on and attentive and often makes delicious fruity (complimentary) aperitifs to round out an evening. I want everyone to know and experience the divinity of Ornella, but I'm also glad that it's maintained a bit of the "you know if you know" charm that makes it so special. Every time I've been here, there is always at least one table full of neighborhood Italians talking and laughing over bottles of wine and demitasses of espresso, which is really the only review you need.

Previous Page123456789...Next Page

Share This Page