The Westway Reviews

2.9

75 Clarkson Street

New York, New York 10014

nickstrip

posted on 20 May, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
132 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

No problem getting in like others mentioned. It's a shame this place will be gone in 3 weeks- a true New York institution.

curtis17

posted on 12 December, 2014
Joined 5 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
N/A
Sound System and DJ
1

I've never written a review for a bar or club because I don't care enough to waste my time. But - this place was THAT bad. I waited in line with one other male friend for an hour. The bouncer kept saying he'd let us in soon. Finally, the white bouncer with the long hair asks, "what are you going to do for me if I let you in?" Once he went away, the tall African American gentleman lets us know that for $500 he'll let us in. WHAT?! $500 just to enter a mediocre former strip club?! Insane. I understand giving girls preference, but to make us wait for an hour before letting us know that you want a $500 bribe is rude and inconsiderate. The kicker is we had two female friends in the bar waiting for us. Avoid this place. There are too many good bars/clubs out there. I should also note that I've been to this place one other time (and was allowed in because it was an off night). Drinks are $10-$15 each, they clearly use bottom shelf alcohol, and the service was terrible.

XXXbeast

posted on 19 November, 2014
Joined 4 years ago
205 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
2.5

This place was a lot of fun - chill and eccentric at the same time. There were two rooms, the main bar when you walk in, which isn't nearly as loud and vibrant as the room that the DJ is located in. The old strip-club has a unique lay-out - cat-walks, stage, etc... and overall was a great place to dance. The doormen were much nicer than a lot of places I've been to before as well!

igor34

posted on 2 November, 2014
Joined 5 years ago
212 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

Wow worst sound everPaid to get in and sat through several shit acts to get to the headliner only to have their amazing music unrecognizable because of a terrible sound guy, will never come back again

StripClub431

posted on 14 September, 2014
Joined 4 years ago
190 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

Requires $150 minimum bar tab per male patron for entry. Bouncers do not leverage females in your group for waiving this fee.

Weedman420

posted on 28 August, 2014
Joined 4 years ago
187 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
N/A
Value for Money, Drinks
N/A
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

If you are going here to listen to live music. Don't ..... Horrible sound and over priced drinks. Not worth the walk. It's truly a dissappointment!

adamrod

posted on 24 June, 2014
Joined 7 years ago
274 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
1.5

Great Place To Dance! But The Door Girl/Guy Is A BITCH! Marques So Rude. Never Will I Go Back!!

mathewater12

posted on 31 May, 2014
Joined 4 years ago
194 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
1.5

This bar used to be a strip club. You can tell.$10 for the cheapest liquor you'll never recognize. I'd give them one star but you have to offend me personally to earn that honor and I guess that didn't happen.

Paul W.

posted on 25 April, 2014
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
N/A
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
2

This place was terrible. Absolute garbage. To make a very, very long story short: They keep your ID when you open a tab. God forbid you leave the bar w/o closing your tab (and retrieving your ID). I went here for NYE 2014. Left to ...take care of some new years business... and forgot to close my tab/ get my ID. No biggie -- I'll get it tomorrow night, right? Wrong. These guys were closed from Wednesday to SATURDAY. Nobody picks up the phones. Answering machine full. Nightmare: I don't live in NYC -- was just visiting. Hard to travel on an airline without your GOVERNMENT-ISSUED ID. I literally had to push my flight back multiple days in hopes of this trashy bar being open. Even had my passport expressed mailed to me while I waited. When they FINALLY opened, lo and behold, they couldn't find my ID. I was laughing at this point. Literally had to bow up to this silly bartendress (the one who had served me NYE night!) and get her to look around for it. Finally found it -- after 45 minutes....The service was terrible. The prices were insane (fixed fee for all drinks from 10pm - 1am for NYE -- but they didn't let ANYONE in until 11:30pm, and STILL cut off the drink special at 1am.). Stay away from Westway -- you have literally thousands of options on what to do with your night, in West Village alone! This place is terrible.

Marisa L.

posted on 1 February, 2014
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
3.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
3.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
3

This is a cool place to see a show, but it feels like it is at the end of the world, all the way but the West Side Highway and drinks are pricey, even seltzer was $2. Coat check was $3 and there are two spaces, one with a catwalk of sorts, which can make visibility to see the band a bit challenging. After the artist showcase they played dance music that was more on the hip hop dance side. The weird thing were the smoke machines, but the sound was really good.

maxxy1

posted on 20 January, 2014
Joined 9 years ago
317 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3
Overall Hospitality
3
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
1

The usual lines, men's line, table line, the "you know the bouncer" line. We came here after a birthday dinner and luckily the bday girl knew the bouncer. We all got in pretty quickly while the slightly drunk girls in line start squawking about how they're prettier/waited longer/have a friend inside. Pretty good scene for a night out of dancing and the DJ wasn't awful (even played some trap later in the night). I didn't get a horribly creepy feeling from the guys here, which was a nice change. We even had a nice conversation in line for the restroom (there are 2 bathrooms for the whole place and they're both unisex). Beware of the wet surface on the lighted floors...if you have stilettos on you will almost certainly fall and break your ass. The fog doesn't really help the situation.

fuckery12

posted on 10 October, 2013
Joined 9 years ago
316 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
2.5

I am wondering if my taste for pubs/discos/bars has gone below par or that I am really desperate to try every new place NYC has to offer. By far one of the worst places I have been too. All I needed was some space boots to not step on the floor and float in air. One word for this place, disgusting. I had read the reviews, but unfortunately it was a B-school event and I had already bought the tickets, so was forced to go. Man!!, lets talk about the good stuff, it was close to other bars, that we could easily move to. The bad - music, drinks, dance floor, just everything about the place. When have I last heard a DJ shut off music to move to the next song!!! And who the hell plays Kelly Clarkson and Katie Perry after playing deadMau5 :( ... Absolute disaster of a place. Would not recommend if you really like classy and good hangout places, pubs/bars. And this place is not cheap...14$ for a Jack&Coke. Not worth it for a place like this.

Pete S.

posted on 22 September, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
4.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
3.5
Value for Money, Food
4
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
4

HaHA!! ---- (This is the gritty, triumphant feeling I feel everytime I go into Westway)Do you like fog machines pumping fog mixed with cigarette smoke? Do you like the perfume of gasified sweat, tears and liquor?Do you like strip clubs but have too much dignity to casually attend?Do you like DFMOs? (That's a "Dance Floor Make Out" mind you, an acronym I learned from my ex....who I coincidentally met at Westway....through a DFMO....) Then you'll like Westway!

tonycluber

posted on 5 September, 2013
Joined 5 years ago
214 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
4

Westway is my not-so-secret, dirty, guilty pleasure. Poles? Platforms? Pink lights? What's not to love? Then there are the illuminated Twister-esque floors that I tend to get really fascinated right around 3 am. And let's not forget the random but equally engrossing fog machine...Maybe I should've prefaced this by saying this is not a place for any and everyone. I'm the type of girl who, when intoxicated, is partial to dancing. Sitting around at one of those fratty bars and fruitlessly yelling small talk at my neighbor is not worth precious weekend time. If you seek an unpretentious night with unexpected music--I'm talking JT circa 2008 reeeemiiiixed club style--I'd suggest you embrace the grunginess that is Westway.

Christopher C.

posted on 2 July, 2013
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
1.5

The people in the little crowd that showed up were terrible. The fog machine was terrible. The layout was terrible. It was pretty terrible.

Share This Page