Rouge NYC Reviews

3.8

94 Rivington Street

New York, New York 10002

eddyL

posted on 7 January, 2016
Joined 9 years ago
317 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1

If you are comfortable being uncomfortable, then this is the place for you. If not, then please read the following:Do not go here. Ever! My boyfriend and I came here on Christmas Eve and within the first few minutes knew something was off about this place. Completely empty, odd decor and an awkward wait staff/owner. We both ordered the steak and some red wine. 25 minutes later, two gigantic steaks came out that was totally overdone and missing the sauce that was listed on the menu. The steaks also had sides of ketchup and Dijon mustard on the plates, which was pretty strange for a place that seemed fancy... Our sides (macaroni & cheese and fries) came out a few minutes later. We took a few bites and came to the agreement that the food was inedible and we needed to leave as soon as humanly possible. The owner and waiter came over asking several times if we wanted to take the food home or have some complementary dessert. They also asked us repeatedly what was wrong with the food so they could make the necessary adjustments, but we both felt too awkward to say anything negative. The whole place seemed like a cover for the French mafia or something. I don't know, but whatever you do, DO NOT GO HERE FOR DINNER!

AssnTits5

posted on 13 December, 2015
Joined 9 years ago
351 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3
Value for Money, Drinks
3.5
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
4

Here's the deal with this place: I guess they had a GroupOn deal or something a while back and people got upset because they didn't think they received what the Groupon promised. Spoke to the owner-- apparently the mess-up was on GroupOn's end. It's a shame that hurt the ranking of the place, because the owner is a really friendly guy and they have terrific drink specials.As far as food, I would recommend smaller plates and sides. I had the lamb which was a bit dry and slightly overcooked. It wasn't bad but it wasn't as advertised. My wife had salmon- she thought it was undercooked a bit and a bit bland. That's the bad news.The good news? The owner cares and the service is terrific. The ambience is wonderful even if the music (on our night it was more like a South Beach night spot than a LES spot, given all the Pitbull, J Lo and the like) was a little goofy. That Rivington/Orchard block is a great one- and given the warm winter we've had it is a really pleasant spot to sit and drink wine. Good wine list, and a nice little lounge downstairs too. Our side dishes-- a truffle mac and cheese and goat cheese salad, among others-- were excellent. Stick to that and wine and you'll have a nice evening.

harryharry

posted on 1 November, 2015
Joined 9 years ago
314 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
1

It was an awful experience. I had a living social voucher which was said that I can order any food or drink on the menu. However, things is not like this at all. When I arrived in the restaurant with my friend, the waiter is so reluctant to service us becuz we have a living social voucher and basically there is nothing I can actually order on their menu. The waiter said that they just don't have what I ordered. I asked what they have. He only pointed out 4-5 items of the entire menu!!! Both my friend and I can feel that the waiter didn't want to serve us at all just BECAUSE we have a VOUCHER!!!!! This is a ridiculous place!!! I read the review and I am not an occasional case!! To the owner: if you don't want to serve those who have vouchers, simply don't listed ur place on those websites!! This is a horrible experience.

rogerrab2

posted on 15 August, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
186 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
3.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
4

Went with some friends and had a great time. This review is for the Goat Cheese Salad specifically. It is pricey but delicious. It is the best I've had in the states. I've never been able to find a goat cheese salad like the ones in France and I'll definitely be back again for that.

tonycluber

posted on 12 August, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
214 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
1

The workers are very tired, the food is not tasty. I didn't like it. The food and atmosphere were bad. It's not like the French restaurant.

timmykilla

posted on 7 August, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
129 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This was a great experience. This place is a fun party with delicious food and a fun atmosphere. A bit of Miami in New York City. I like the cozy feeling it has as the owner of the restaurant is there personally and the chef is there too and they greet you with a personal touch. If you want to have a fun night in the LES, go to Rouge! The waitstaff is caring and warm and they make sure you have a really memorable dining experience.

Sally G.

posted on 3 August, 2015
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
0.5
Sound System and DJ
2

We used a groupon to go here for dinner. DON'T! It said we would get 4 salads, but we got 2. It said we would get 4 entrees but when we ordered we could ONLY get a choice of 3 specific entrees. Since this was a groupon for a specific product - a la carte dinner for 4 with no monetary amount, you only pay sales tax on the price you paid for the product, not on the total amount of the dinner. We were charged sales tax for everything. We paid $85 for the groupon for 4 which included, a bottle of wine, 4 glasses of champagne, two appetizers, four salads and four entrees. When the bill came we had to pay tax on the $52 bottle of wine, champagne, food, etc. We do know the tip goes on the total cost of the bill, and we paid a 22% tip which they calculated for us. The food was not good either!

mathewater12

posted on 30 July, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
194 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

No comment for this review

nickstrip

posted on 15 July, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
132 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
N/A
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
2.5

My wife and I went for lunch Sunday 7/5. We were the only patrons in the restaurant the entire time from about noon until a little after 1:00 PM.To start we were given stale bread and we asked for some fresh bread. The waitress/bartender/hostess apologized and offered to bring us some different softer bread. When we tried the second type of bread it was softer but still stale.A little while later the cook walks outside and 5 minutes later we see him return with a large bag of fresh bread. He brings it downstairs to the kitchen - the restaurant never offering us any. Many of the really good items on their menu on the website were not on the printed menu we received. The charcuterie plate for $17 was really small.The foie gras was so small - about 1.5 inches in diameter and 1/4 inch thick - definitely not worth the money even with the 50% Groupon discount. The fruit under is wasn't heated enough and it made the foie gras cool.My crab/lobster cakes were tasty but I had to spit out a couple of pieces of shell that were in them. After we got the bill we went to the single restroom downstairs.Something must have died in there as my wife and I both were very offended by the gross smell. The sink is outside the restroom - in the hall at the bottom of the stairs.There are 3 small rectangular planters under the sink - with their fresh chives growing - uggh!When I came back upstairs my wife had sat down at our table only to find (by the wet feel on her back) - that the waitress/bartender/hostess had sprayed the chair with some type of cleaner but didn't dry the chair off. Now the grand finale. I go to pay the check and a 22% gratuity was automatically added.I told the waitress/bartender/hostess that that was not disclosed on the Groupon to which she replied "the owner of the restaurant can set the rules"I reluctantly paid and we left presuming that Groupon will make good on this terrible experience.

StripClub431

posted on 6 July, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
190 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
4.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
4

The food is quite mediocre in terms of quality and portion considering its price. The kitchen staff kept running back and forth from downstairs to the bar during our meal. The service was great, hence the 3 stars. Probably a good spot for some drinks, but definitely not for the food. Good thing we came with a Groupon deal.

curtis17

posted on 30 June, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Love, love, love! Super cute environment. I grabbed drinks and appetizers with a few girlfriends and the bill wasn't scary at all. They have a drink special everyday and the staff is so accommodating and sweet. Thanks for a wonderful experience, Rouge!

felixnada

posted on 25 May, 2015
Joined 3 years ago
130 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

For my birthday, I wanted to host a dinner at a non-pretentious restaurant that could accommodate a large group and had outdoor seating. Rouge NYC grabbed my attention because of its edgy decor and totally open facade. It exceeded all of my expectations. On Fridays they have a pre fixe menu, and the special they had going on my birthday was one appetizer, one entree, one dessert and one bottle of wine EACH for $49. I haven't heard of a better deal in the city. The staff allowed me to increase the size of my party that morning, placed us at an outdoor table per my request, and allowed us to substitute certain sides for appetizers. Everyone in my party was very pleased, and even expressed eagerness to return. The ambiance was perfect - I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

james1412

posted on 4 March, 2015
Joined 5 years ago
223 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
3.5

It's a new, interesting spot in LES. The decor is nice, but like my girlfriend said, it's a little too busy looking. We were brought here by an awesome groupon, which basically gave us 50% off, but in all honesty I don't think our meal would have been worth it at full price. The portion sizes were quite small compared to the steep prices you pay and some of the dishes were a tad bit off. The foie gras was too "americanized" with an adulterated "dumbed down" taste that I felt was bland. The steak tartare was good, but in many places in Paris and the rest of France, you can find versions with a quick sear just to add texture and flavor, but after asking about this style (aller retoure), the staff was very nice to ty it, but seemed quite unfamiliarized with it, and essentially made a cooked burger patty. That was partially my fault, because I guessed it was supposed to be seared on both sides, but apparently it should only be seared on one side. The mac and cheese was great, though quite simple, so I'd be shocked if they messed that up. The risotto and salmon dish was decent. The risotto was great, but the salmon was quite lackluster, and the portions for both were small. Also, we were the only ones there and it felt slightly awkward, because the music wasn't loud enough to prevent the waitress from hearing our entire conversation at a normal voice level. The service was overall great. The waitress was sweet and accommodating with us. Overall, we had a great meal for 50% off, but I tried to write this review with the same scrutiny as if the 50% was never there.

dfxtrc

posted on 21 April, 2012
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

imjqyrwv

Dancer

posted on 7 April, 2012
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Its a great club.Funny how the club on Borden ave never got bothered for all the things they are doing.Maybe because the manager's cousin is on the club task force.Hmm