Safari Showclub Reviews

3.2

3000 Southeast Powell Boulevard

Portland, Oregon 97202

igor34

posted on 6 October, 2015
Joined 6 years ago
212 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
0.5

They are making improvements to the club but management is a problem. Customers can disrepect the dancers in any which way they want.The policy here is if you are buying drinks, you can disrespect the dancers.

curtis17

posted on 22 July, 2014
Joined 6 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.5
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
4
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
2

I live across the street. I frequently come here to play pool with my neighbors, because YOLO. There are some hot girls. There are also some hot messes. There is a pool that would be nice if I could swim in it. There is actually a pretty sweet back patio area.The teriyaki chicken bowl also tastes pretty solid if you are hammered.

fritter17

posted on 20 April, 2012
Joined 7 years ago
274 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
3.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
3
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
3

Safari is a really decent club. It's definitely a step above the average in Portland. The girls are definitely on the skinny side, but they are quite nice and not super pushy. The servers are really a step above the average and the food is definitely so. I wouldn't eat at most clubs in PDX, but the steaks here are worth trying.

eddyL

posted on 11 March, 2011
Joined 9 years ago
317 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
3
Overall Hospitality
3
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
3
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
5

The dancers all pretty much look the same, with rare exceptions. The Safari type: tall, skinny, tiny boobs, pear shaped. If that's what you are into, then great, but I like more variety.The atmosphere is fun, with big tanks of full grown piranhas. Seating is always plentiful. There is a SWEET patio out back for the summer months. They even have a makeshift pool with floaties that you are welcome to use.The food: fantastic! The chef really cares about his work and will often come to ask you what u think. All I've ever gotten is the safari burger with bacon. Its PERFECT every time. Juicy on the inside, nice and charred on the outside. Nice thick cut bacon. The homemade fries are good too. If you want a good burger and fries for $7! Go here!One of the bartenders is really bitchy and completely ignored me for this group of frat boys. I waited literally for 15 minutes, showing her my empty glass before I left without even being acknowleged. Once I witnessed a pretty crazy bar fight, and of course the bitchy bartender was in the middle of it because the one who started it was her cousin or something...figures. Suggestion: look for bigger variety of girls, secret shop your employees. Food is great though!

AssnTits5

posted on 10 June, 2009
Joined 10 years ago
351 reviews posted
Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.5
Overall Hospitality
3.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
4.5
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
1.5

This place is cool, the time we were here, it was pretty empty. They have a outdoor patio for folks to hang out. The dancers were pretty cute but they seem part of the IBTC ( Itty bitty Txxx comittee) if that's what you like, great! If not? Enjoy the show! Would I pay a cover charge? never! (I would never pay cover to get in any strip club)The bartender is pretty cool (and hot!).

Clare S.

posted on 2 April, 2009
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3
Variety of Dancers
4
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
3.5

Strip Club Crawl Part 2 was a pretty good success at the Safari. We got there a little early so the crowd was a little sparse, but it filled up later on in the evening. I really liked the fact that they had table service. i only had to go up to the bar a couple times in the evening, otherwise, we had a quick and friendly server that took care of us for the evening. I found the drinks to be pretty strong. I got one double in the evening and it was a vodka cran punch in the face.Obviously strip clubs are about the strippers, so here goes. I was surprised about how many of the girls I thought were pretty fantastic. They have multiple poles and a "catwalk" where the girls can dance which gives you different options which I liked. Most all of the girls were super friendly and seemed pretty excited to have a large group with lots of girls in visiting for the evening. We ended up spending a lot of time at the rack because a lot of the girls were good. They could work the pole, and they knew it. Many of the girls were definitely pretty and not in your normal stripper way. They looked like normal pretty girls that learned how fun pole dancing was because they actually looked like they were having fun doing it rather then most strip clubs where the dancers do their thing and get out of there. One of the girls, Holly even hung out with a few of us chatting about the club. It's good to know to know that they were well taken care of there.They unfortunately loose one star for the lone lame stripper that spent her whole song talking to the two guys at the rack. I understand that private dances are where you get the majority of your money in an evening, but when you have a group of 15 peple watching you, don't spend the entire thing talking. Dance a little because I feel bad parting with my dollars (and I parted with A LOT of them in this evening) to have someone talk to me. Overall a great evening. Will most likely be back.

Rich

posted on 20 February, 2009
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.4
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
3.8
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

This club was the best club I went to most of the girls were hot and it was clean .I had a really good time there I live in Washington state and when I left to come back up I did'nt want to come back. Lts just put it this way this club is poppen.

Hollyanna M.

posted on 19 January, 2009
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4.5
Sound System and DJ
3.5

I've been to The Safari a number of times and I'm not certain why we keep going back. Mostly proximity, I think. Every time we go, it's an adventure. First time: sitting at the rack with my boyfriend and his buddy when a dancer reaches for the waistband of my t-shirt and (before I can stop her) yanks it up to my shoulders. My BF's buddy decided that was his favorite part of the night because he got to see illegal boobies. Second time: Another dancer is leaning into me and loses her balance. She's terribly apologetic and so am I because how are you supposed to catch a girl if you're not allowed to touch her? Third time: A dancer asks for a shot of tequila to get her through the dance. "Not the cheap stuff, " she says. Fourth time: A wrestling match breaks out between a gaggle of dancers. I'm not talking about a wrestling-in-jello for fun kind of match, but an actual, Jerry Springer-like fight wherein girls are yanking hair and costumes from each other. I wasn't sure whether to tip them or get out of the way. First it was two girls, then four. They knocked me off the barstool and then the bouncer managed to finally pluck them apart. But hey, I got a free refill on my drink. Bonus: They have an outdoor patio where you can drink and smoke!

Kitty P.

posted on 1 September, 2008
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2.5
Overall Hospitality
2.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
2.5

Kinda creepy, really.Why is it that it seems like customers aren't really, like, WELCOME at strip clubs? Or am I just super creepy? See I don't want a creepy complex from somewhere as COMPLETELY creepy as the Safari Show Club. I don't think I'm creepy. Gawd.Here's a visual for you. There is only one guy sitting at the meat rail. A, shall we say, carefree, creative, substantially overweight gal with Lee Press On Hair and cottage cheese thighs worse than my own reaches her airbrushed talons into the guy's empty rocks glass and helps herself to some of his mini-ice cubes.....You know what. I'm not even going to finish this part. Let your mind land where it does here and that's exactly how it panned out. Ewe. Ewe. Ewe.....A lot of melted ice ended up on the floor so the next dancer's set consisted entirely of her lethargically pushing a dishtowel around on the floor with as much grace as my elementary school janitor. But for a creepy finale, the guy has this inaudible diaglogue with his server which I assumed to be:Creepy Guy: "Can I get another ("free") drink here. The creepy stripper put her airbrushed talons in it."Waitress: "No. Your drink was gone sir."Creepy Guy: "No it wasn't. Look. There's more there." (Gestures to quarter inch of melted ice with ever-so-slight-whiskey coloration).Waitress: "Here." (Waitress throws a straw in the glass of melting ice and sashays off. Creepy Guy finishes ice drippings.)Yeah. That about sums it up. A safari of creepy drippings. Ewe.

Cameron & Peter

posted on 6 April, 2008
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.1
Quality of the Dancers
3.8
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
3.8
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
3.8

Im in love with Trinity!!! Trinity might have been the best hands on stripper I have ever met. Talent was mediocre but a couple diamonds in the rough (TRINITY).

rhizome

posted on 14 July, 2007
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating1.6
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1.2
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.2
Value for Money, Drinks
1.2
Value for Money, Food
1.2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.2
Sound System and DJ
1.2

This place used to be called "Docs"--and it was awesome. Sure, it had a more "blue-collar" sports-bar feel, but it was always packed, the girls were very friendly, and there was no cover. Currently, Safari has a cover of 5 dollars (at least on the fri night I was there). The drinks are more expensive than other clubs in portland. On this particular Friday night the place was DEAD. No one was at the racks tipping and the girls were just sitting around. The place has too many tables and chairs, it is too crowded. There is NO air movement so you will suffocate from smoke. The place simply tries to look like a high class club, but its just looks. Avoid this club!

some guy

posted on 13 December, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating4.5
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.8
Overall Hospitality
3.8
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
3.8
Value for Money, Food
3.8
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Very nice club...friendly staff and dancers...definitely place that is worth a number of visits.

sam

posted on 16 October, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.3
Quality of the Dancers
3.8
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.8
Overall Hospitality
3.8
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
3.8

No comment for this review

J. J. Mcgee

posted on 8 October, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

awesome club, great girls, and staff was so cool to me

kb

posted on 12 July, 2006
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.5
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
N/A
Overall Hospitality
N/A
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
2.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.2
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2.5
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
N/A

Clean and well-designed club. My favorite Portland venue from a purely aesthetic sense but the dancers have gone down hill and the food isn't nearly as good as it once was.