Sugar's Uptown Cabaret Reviews

2.8

404 East Highland Mall Boulevard

Austin, Texas 78752

XXXbeast

posted on 1 February, 2016
Joined 5 years ago
205 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
1

Shouldn't even give you a star! I'm an independent lesbian who wants to see strippers. But I need a male escort to get inside?! This is bull****!!!!!

tonycluber

posted on 17 November, 2015
Joined 6 years ago
214 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
N/A
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
2
Sound System and DJ
1

Nope

fritter17

posted on 10 November, 2015
Joined 7 years ago
274 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I visited Austin recently for a college football game. My boyfriend and I stopped here for a couple drinks and some appetizers because it was close to our hotel. It's pretty small, you can tell the club is sort of dated, but our waitress was really nice. I guess it was happy hour while we were there, cause all the drinks and appetizers were half off which was a nice surprise. It was early evening on a Thursday so it wasn't packed but the girls dancing were pretty and not pushy. The best part was the drink specials, the food, and the prompt service. Over all it was a pretty nice evening, I'd def go back.

felixnada

posted on 21 June, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
130 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4.5
Overall Hospitality
4.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4
Value for Money, Drinks
4.5
Value for Money, Food
4.5
OVerall Atmosphere
4
Sound System and DJ
1.5

This review is focused on the food vs. the girls, which is the very thing that enticed me to visit in the first place. In particular, it was their most respectable $10 all-you-can-eat Sunday Crawfish Boil, prepared by the talented ex-Razorback chef, Chappy Dodge. She obviously takes a lot of pride in her food, gentleman's club or not; and she says a lot of it is scratch cooking vs. pre-prepared/packaged/frozen stuff a lot of places use. And you will not find lower prices on this kind of food anywhere else in town (except maybe another strip club?)The only down side might be the lighting - dark as hell, you'll probably need your phone light to read the menu and see what's on the plate. Other than that... if you don't mind nekked women dancing, walking around and giving table dances while you're dining, definitely give Sugar's a shot. #sugarsaustin #stripclubfoodaustin

billtheguy12

posted on 3 May, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
144 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

Ever since DiTS and Rick's fall off my grace, I started to come back here and I got to admit, it has been a wonderful experience: I gotta give it up to Brian and Parker since they have treated me like royalty.

timmykilla

posted on 29 April, 2015
Joined 4 years ago
129 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
2.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
1.5
Overall Hospitality
1.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
1
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
3.5
Sound System and DJ
2

Nothing but twigs with no rhythm. Used to be a fun spot for me and my friends until they got rid of all the girls with an actual personality. Night time managers are a**holes. Waitresses ignore you so you have to get your own drinks. Smells like a dead animal when you first walk in. Girls in the bathroom throwing up. Dancers AND managers doing coke in VIP with customers. Not to mention I literally watched as a girl gave a full on blow job back there. The only reason I'm giving them even two stars is the food being well worth the visit and Frank the "Shoe Shine Man" lol he's awesome...oh and their music is ok.Wouldn't be surprised if this club were busted and shut down soon.

richard95

posted on 23 March, 2015
Joined 9 years ago
319 reviews posted
Overall Rating5.0
Quality of the Dancers
5
Private Dances, Value for Money
5
Overall Hospitality
5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
5
Variety of Dancers
5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
5
Value for Money, Drinks
5
Value for Money, Food
5
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
5

I come here for the food. It's 5 Star and always has been. I like to watch Rockin' Riki Dee perform. She's a genuine entertainer, and you can tell she enjoys her 'work'.

igor34

posted on 10 October, 2014
Joined 5 years ago
212 reviews posted
Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
2
Value for Money, Cover Charge
3.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
2.5
Sound System and DJ
3

Mostly young thin hispanic girls. Pretty good looking. But it's still ghetto. Sorry Bill. Maybe you need to hire another DJ.

StripClub431

posted on 1 October, 2014
Joined 5 years ago
190 reviews posted
Overall Rating4.0
Quality of the Dancers
4.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
4
Overall Hospitality
4
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.5
Variety of Dancers
3
Value for Money, Cover Charge
4.5
Value for Money, Drinks
4
Value for Money, Food
3
OVerall Atmosphere
5
Sound System and DJ
3.5

If you haven't been there in last few months you don't know Sugars. Girls are very attractive, the ghetto feel is too. Better music no more rap bs. Great service and comfortable safe atmosphere.

winston12

posted on 17 February, 2014
Joined 6 years ago
236 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
0.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
0.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
N/A
Value for Money, Drinks
1
Value for Money, Food
0.5
OVerall Atmosphere
1.5
Sound System and DJ
2

Poor service unattractive, unattentive, and rude. I was actually told that she didn't have to be my waitress anymore if I didn't want her to just when I asked why she never ask for a specific girl to come by. We had to get our own drinks and the "ENTERTAINMENT" was half what it used to be, lots of drugged out ratty girls when at one time Sugars used to be the top hot spot, sad to say this is no more. No beautiful women like normal and no manager in sight the place was very run down. Very POOR job and for a Friday night.

curtis17

posted on 26 December, 2013
Joined 5 years ago
225 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
2
Private Dances, Value for Money
1
Overall Hospitality
1
Guest to Dancer Ratio
N/A
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
0.5
Value for Money, Drinks
0.5
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1.5

Buddy and I use to go to Sugars once a month. The place played rock from the 80's and had good looking white gals. We both decided to go last week as we had not been in three years or so and this place is now a black rap ghetto strip club. No white gals in the place and the music, horrible. On a Wed night, there were a total of 15 people in the entire place and him and I were two of about six customers. The Rose is where we will head off to next time.

SRIRAM G.

posted on 9 September, 2012
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating2.0
Quality of the Dancers
3
Private Dances, Value for Money
2
Overall Hospitality
2
Guest to Dancer Ratio
2.5
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
1.5
OVerall Atmosphere
3
Sound System and DJ
3.5

When I used to live in Austin from 2007 to 2009, I used to visit this place frequently. This used to be an amazing place with very attractive and friendly dancers and very chatty waitresses. On my recent trip to Austin, I didn't experience any of that. The dancers were attractive but they weren't very friendly. Since I was from a different country, I am ethnically different and I guess the dancers were walking past me just by looking at my face. Clearly this place has gone downhill and didn't really live up to the standards that I hoped it would.

larry1

posted on 31 July, 2012
Joined 8 years ago
303 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
0.5
Variety of Dancers
N/A
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1
Value for Money, Drinks
1.5
Value for Money, Food
1
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
1.5

I swear to you it was like "pregnant night" at this club. And this was supposed to be the "A Team"...prime time at 11pm on a Saturday night. 9/10 girls looked like they were 4 months pregnant. Seriously anti-boner. We stayed about two hours with no improvement in quality of dancer. The Banditos motorcycle club was also there that night adding to the "ambiance". Gross dancers, skanky clientele. Not recommended.

ryan123

posted on 1 February, 2012
Joined 10 years ago
345 reviews posted
Overall Rating1.0
Quality of the Dancers
1.5
Private Dances, Value for Money
0.5
Overall Hospitality
0.5
Guest to Dancer Ratio
1
Variety of Dancers
1.5
Value for Money, Cover Charge
1.5
Value for Money, Drinks
N/A
Value for Money, Food
2
OVerall Atmosphere
1
Sound System and DJ
0.5

Management dressed like pimps- yelled at his girls, yelled at customers... Awkward experience. Dont go back until its under new management.

Traveling Man

posted on 15 June, 2011
This review was posted anonymously

Overall Rating3.6
Quality of the Dancers
3.8
Private Dances, Value for Money
3.8
Overall Hospitality
3.8
Guest to Dancer Ratio
3.8
Variety of Dancers
3.8
Value for Money, Cover Charge
2.5
Value for Money, Drinks
2.5
Value for Money, Food
N/A
OVerall Atmosphere
3.8
Sound System and DJ
3.8

Pretty good sound system. TV's for sports. Poker Table. Good

handful of girls for a Monday night. Lot of fun and cute

girls. Not a ton of hotties, but plenty of good looking ones

with 3 or 4 hotties. Sam was amazing! Made my night...and

maybe my week! :)